Let's Make a Level for Duke Nukem 3D, Part 29

in #gaming7 years ago


source

Last time we began work on the alien spaceship that the player will hijack in order to escape this planet. Somebody suggested that it ought to have wings, so here you go:

You might ask "what does a ship that flies in the vacuum of space need with wings by the way" to which I answer "shhhh, shut up". They look a little poopy but I like that they slope downward. We'll see if we can't improve them a little bit later on. For now, let's add some open bays for the landing gear:

That's where the landing gear would fold up into and stow during flight, like on an airliner. Now for the landing gear itself.

There, that's about as good as it gets using level geometry. Sloped sectors can do alot but they're not magic. Let's see about improving those wings now.

There, each one has an extra engine attached to the underside now. It still needs something but I'm not sure what. I'll come back to it later. Now let's add the opening that the player will enter through.

This elevator platform will raise the player up inside of the ship using the same teleporter trick as the spacecraft in the starting area, but in reverse (going up instead of down).

Here it is ingame. I've added some handrails to the elevator platform, and tapered the wings so they get thinner near the tips. That's what was missing! They look much better now if you ask me.

Here it is from the front. I consider it basically finished on the outside. If I think of anything else to add I'll come back to it. Otherwise, we can now move on to building the spacecraft interior. So stay tuned for that!


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

In 4 words: Best World Game! Difficult to find him a defect: fun, nervous, nag, a cult bestiary, weapons galore (ah, Devastator!), Fun, stupid humor, an unforgettable soundtrack, babes, challenge.

I think you wish to feature some reasonably junction rectifier lighting underneath the ballistic capsule. it'd look fancy. And tbh i prefer the wings.
congratulations

Nicely done ship, I'm up to see the result about the inner part of the spacecraft.
And I'm also curious about building more maps, it's kinda fun.

Maybe next time I should let people vote on what room to add next.

I've heard about online straw polls where you can ask a question and show different answers and people will vote (maybe it can help). I saw people on Twitch doing that to understand what their viewers want.

When I was thinking of wings the other day it was along the lines of a klingon bird of prey. I suppose the only thing it's missing now is some intimidating lazer cannons?

I think you need to add some kind of led lighting under the spacecraft. It would look fancy. And tbh i like the wings.
And congratulations for 6k followers Alex.

And now it's on the ground. Beautifully done.
I like the part with the sun that you can see above the spaceship.

The wings really fit into in the ship and I guess the aliens 👽 will really like the ship.
You've done a great job 👏👏👏

Everything you created is so perfect, it is an outcome of hardwork, dedication and consistency.Keep creating.

This wing sot of thing doesn't look good. It needs to be modified. Anyways i know you will do it. Moreover if we are leaving planet where are we heading. And doesn't the player need oxygen mask in the vacuum?

the graphics you created is therefore excellent. challenge., journey moment therefore superb.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49