Let's Make a Level for Duke Nukem 3D, Part 20

in #gaming6 years ago


source

Last time we began adding some enemies, including ones which spawn in areas you've already been through once you complete certain objectives, to keep the action lively. Now we'll be adding more of those, and some spawning ammo that appears only when you obtain the gun it corresponds to.

However, let's not just GIVE weapons to the player. As you saw in the last article, the big guns (shrinker, freeze ray) are hidden and hard to get. The lesser weapons won't be hidden, but will require powerup items to reach. Like this SHotgun which you need the jetpack to get:

I've also set it up so that after using the shotgun to fight through the underwater maze and obtaining the hazard boots, a new, better weapon (the machinegun) will spawn on that same platform:

I've added a couple more enemy spawns following the toxic waste corridor, the dark maze, etc. and feel there's enough combat...except at the end of the level. This grand hallway demands some sort of epic final battle, no?

Trying to exit will just spawn a mini battle lord. I think what I'll do is then have the door either open on delay, or (more likely, just to be obnoxious) have it open so slowly that you basically have to fight the battle lord just to survive until it's far enough open that you can escape.

Anyway that's all for now. Next time I'll build the area on the other side of the exit door, and begin working out a cooler, more atmospheric way for the player to enter the level at the beginning.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

awesome post friend i like game great 3d dimensions amezing post ☺bro.

I have played this game, well the graphics are not that good, but the game is full of suspense, you can't tell what's next, well when it comes to destruction, its the best.

I love to play this game in the 90's and I played it a lot together with DOOM. I and my co-workers are playing this game after working hours together with our Boss who is also an avid fan of Duke Nukem. But this is an Epic map that @alexbeyman is creating.

How convenient that the mini-boss has a couple rows of teeth to munch on Dukes body.
You probably need a couple shotguns to defeat it lol.

Last time we began adding some enemies, including ones which spawn in areas you've already been through once you complete certain objectives, to keep the action lively

Owk I think this was a great idea because it's kind of boring playing a game and when you are killed, you would have to go over the same thing over and over again killing same enemies over and over . Reason I hate mission games but with this new leveling I think it would make the game worth playing and I hope other game developers learn from this .

Hey, are you a game developer or something?
That's really cool if you are

I do write for games, although here I am not developing a game, simply making a level for a game which already exists.

Well that's awesome..
As a kid I dreamt of being a game developer

You're not dead yet. There is still time to make it happen. Unity is very easy to learn and has many free tutorials on Youtube which teach you how to make games with it.

Haha..
You're right, I'm not dead yet

A tough job ...but the 3D dimensions looks great...thanks for sharing such amazing posts

That is the kind of space that I love. That triangular space where I always got killed. But I love the challenge. This this the kind of space that you are fighting for survival and a small change of escaping lol :). Nice one on this @alexbeyman

I like to play the game, I will try your game. and your developing was excellent.

wow you are taking me back to the 90's when i was a kid sitting hours and play on this game memories memories

I love the corridor and dark maze thing in this stuff... I will still ask you for more Ammunition.. this is amazing stuff.. You are making it all by yourself... Respect and Keep rocking :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56