Let's Make a Level for Duke Nukem 3D, Part 10

in #gaming6 years ago


source

Before we do anything drastic, let's have a look at where we left off last time:

Hm, alright. That chamber's probably gonna need to be bigger, but that's a bridge I'll cross when I come to it. First things first, got to set up the basic mechanics of the jumping puzzle that this room exists to house.

Platforms, check. Goal destination with jetpack, check. But now a problem arises. What do I always say? That's right, NO unshaded rooms! But this room is basically just a featureless vertical shaft. I can't have repeating vertical details because BUILD doesn't allow floors above other floors if they are both visible at once. So how do we shade this room? How do we detail it?

Here's a better look at the destination at the end of the jumping puzzle. Adding details here won't be difficult. It's the massive expanse around it that's a tougher nut to crack. Maybe I'm coming at this wrong? Maybe I don't need repeating vertical details, just something attention grabbing at eye level.

There, how's that? I think it more or less does the trick. Some pulsing lighting effects in there will complete the effect I think, and maybe some lighting arcs. Maybe a little more toying around will...

HAHA Yessssss that looks fucking wicked. Some lighting in there and it will be perfect, although I might want a light cycler instead, as yet undecided. To do that I will add a cycler sprite to each sector I want pulsing light in. The sprite will be the shade I want it at it's brightest. The sector will be shaded to the darkest point in the cycle. A gpspeed sprite set to lotag 30 will regulate how fast it pulses.

Haha YESSSS now it looks EVEN COOLER. I wish I knew how to make webms so you could see the animated lighting effects, but I guess it will have to wait until I release the finished map to you guys. Stay tuned for more! Next time probably we finish up this room and begin on the underwater maze.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Wow that place looks like a death trap. It also looks very cool but I can just tell I will probably die a lot hehe!

I put it first because like you said, people will die alot here. But if they get past this part they will have the jetpack and any further platforming sections can be easily skipped, so falling deaths no longer are a problem beyond that point.

Well hey that is a big plus. Duly noted. I will make sure to grab that jet pack as fast as I can.

That was a complicated level. I'd need at least a week to make it like that. I'm curious what would happen to someone's butt if it fell right into that laser.

Oh dude, i nearly forgotten that this game had been existed 🙏. Never heard about this build engine - are you able to add/select enemies aswell?

Yes, of course. That will come in the later stages of design however. The main point of this map is not killing enemies.

What if it's a space prison where prisoners have to fight to survive the death game. And the last one standing will be spared. But promised freedom is actually a lie and he has to escape somehow.

That looks really cool! Reminds me of Matrix or the first XBOX logo. ;) And last but not least something in the old game "Descent", where you could fly around, if you know that game. :) Anyway: interesting idea and work!

It’s geting pretty exciting. I love the idea of the jumping puzzle with perhaps some LED’s build in.
This would look cool. Underwater maze sounds even better, I wonder what kind of underwater zombies will be waiting there for you. It’s all getting kind of personal since you build this yourself.
Looks great so far.

i'm wait for your finished map sir... these are looking really tricky...

Thanks for share . Excellent design .this is similar real life .i like jumping puzzle.when you will release it .

These Uups are amazing
Thanks for sharing

@alexbeyman wow sir The atmosphere of the lighting is as good as real life & good work thank you ##Upvote/Resteem###

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57729.24
ETH 3118.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37