Games That Need an HD Remaster: Neutopia, "the Off Brand Zelda"

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)


source

Since beating the HD remaster of Wonder Boy 3: The Dragon's Trap, I've been hankering for similar updates of forgotten classics. In particular Zelda and Metroid-likes, which I have an enduring appreciation for.

Some years ago I sought out all the games I found find in that genre. Neutopia was one of the more memorable ones. This isn't to say I don't also want an HD remaster of Golden Axe Warrior, for instance. Just that it would be lower on my wishlist.


source

Neutopia chronicles the adventures of the hero Jazeta, on his quest to vanquish an ancient sea monster. Neutopia II then follows the quest of his son, who sets out to avenge the death of his father (minor spoilers). II is in all ways a better game, but also non-trivially different from the first game.

The first game is not confined to a single map. Rather once you complete every quest on the first map, Earth Sphere, you're transported to an entirely different map. There are several other 'spheres' to explore like Sea Sphere, and an entire hollow earth portion of the game which takes place underground.


source

Sufficed to say it's a truly massive game which gave Turbo GrafX owners something meaty to sink their teeth into back in the day. It also vindicated their choice of console even after Link to the Past dropped on SNES. Neither of the Neutopia games manages to outshine LttP, but both are larger overall, with more variety.


source

It makes no efforts to hide what it's based on. You'll be bombing cracked walls to reveal hidden caves, fighting through dungeons to get new items and fight boss monsters, it's all very familiar. It takes the classic NES Zelda formula and expands on it dramatically, but in a way that's more of an evolution than the revolution that ALttP represented.


source

Who is Neutopia "for"? Someone who wants more classic Zelda, but can't stomach shitty NES graphics. Someone curious to play an off-brand oddity that not many in the US were exposed to. If you're looking for an expansion on the Zelda NES formula with a couple of neat twists of its own, I can recommend you give this a shot on Retroarch or Virtual Console.


source

Which begs the question of whether or not we'll ever see a remaster of this. Golden Axe Warrior is actually the more likely candidate given the Wonder Boy remaster team's love of the Sega Master System. However this is a game which imo deserves new life, and a wider audience.

A remaster like Wonder Boy where you can swap between the old and new graphic/music whenever you want would, in my mind, be the perfect way to achieve that. Hear me, gaming gods! I beseech thee, and offer a sacrificial chicken nugget! ...Now all there is left to do is wait.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Neutopia doesn't look half bad. I'm still waiting for Heroes of Might and Magic III to be normally remastered. But it won't happen, sigh.

I tried that game and could never figure out what the fuck I was even supposed to be doing in it. Okay, so I moved my unicorn to the castle. Is that good? Bad? Will the unicorn attack the castle, or live in it? Now the wizard is moving to the tree. Is it a magic tree? What is any of this about?

It's such a pity. So many unanswered questions and only one head.

This looks like the most legit turbo game. Looks really sweet. I think there may be a way to get a turbografix inject of it on custom 3ds firmware.

Noo, not chicken nugget! Anything but chicken nugget!
How could you sacrifice the sacred nugget of a chicken!((

It really does have a Zelda look to it! These types of games were my favorite when I was younger, along with stuff like Final Fantasy and Dragon Warrior.

You reminded Me with Old Games ^^ Like GTA 2D

I actually worked on that one. haha
It's 3D... ish

Pretty sure you're gonna have to upgrade to a sacrificial chicken tendie if you wanna see an HD remake of this game, bruh. Maybe...Dare I say it...TWO CHICKEN TENDIES! Gotta up our game here if you want a high quality version of this neat looking game.

But I'm out of GBP for this month

We gotta pool up all of your followers good boy points then. It's the only way :(

I always wanted a turbografx when I was a kid

It was the weird fringe console that one kid had, but nobody else did. Which created a kind of mystique surrounding it.

I played this game as a kid but forgot about it until you just posted this.. the nostalgia. When I was a kid when I bought a game it didn't matter if it was good or bad. It was the game I chose, and I wouldn't get another one for months lol!!

You chose wisely. This was a massive, diverse and fairly polished game. It makes me miss this style of game where you're just a humble little pixel dude with a sword and shield, against a world full of monsters out to get him.

see the game displayed in your post, I am reminded of my childhood. I spend a lot of time with video games.Thanks for sharing@alexbeyman.

Wow! Awesome game. Reminds me of childhood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66882.49
ETH 2597.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71