[Game Review] Augmented Empire: System Shock Meets X-Com

in #gaming6 years ago


source

I've been hanging out at Amanda's house a lot frequently. But you know me, I have to get my VR fix. When I'm not in VR, I want to be in VR. When I'm in VR, I want better VR. There is no helping me, an intervention would accomplish nothing at this stage.

Anyway I naturally brought my Gear VR along. Yes, I've heard about Oculus Go and am interested. It's just hard to justify when it'll play the same games as Gear VR. I might still get it though. But recently what I've been playing the most on Gear VR is Augmented Empire.


source

Augmented Empire is in the tactical RPG genre. Like Final Fantasy Tactics basically. Battles take place on a grid, each character in your party gets two action points. Typically one is used to move, the other is used to shoot, but as you upgrade your characters many new options open.

Want one character to lay down covering fire during the enemy's turn? Want a character to automatically shoot at the first enemy that comes out from behind cover even after your turn is over? These are all made possible with augments.


source

In this respect the game feels very System Shock-y. Or even Deus-Ex like. The theme is hard to pin down though. It isn't straight up cyberpunk since many elements of the game world are very retro, like the clothing and architecture. It's an alt history where an apocalyptic event flooded the world.

What remained of humanity used nuclear bombs to create an artificial island called New Savannah. But as they lacked horizontal space to expand, they just kept building upward. The lower classes live on the bottom level, middle classes above them and so on in a literal class structure.


source

The story is engrossing. Surprisingly so, as I don't normally get into RPG storylines. It's clear, easy to follow and emotionally engaging. You really feel invested in the small but growing resistance movement which you're in control of.

Being a VR exclusive title might seem odd since it's not immediately apparent how it benefits from it. But having proper depth perception really makes the little isometric chunks of the world "pop". They're also tilted towards you somewhat so you don't have to crane your neck too far down to see the action.

It supports basically any control scheme you want. I play with an Xbox One S control pad for comfort even though the game uses only one button. It supports the Gear VR motion controller as well, letting you indicate laser pointer style where you want the character to go, among other things.

It can be had for $10 from Oculus Home at the time of writing. Being that it's a Gear VR exclusive, the market for it is somewhat limited. Unsurprising then that Facebook fronted the money for veteran developer Coatsink to make this gem. It's exclusives like this that will sell headsets. I give it a 9/10.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Damn, this looks like a pretty dope little RPG, man. Sad that I don't have a VR headset to play it and try it out.

The cheapest Windows Mixed Reality HMD is the Lenovo Explorer, which can be had for $199. If you have to play this specific game I'd wait for the Oculus Go, which will cost the same amount but be a totally stand-alone solution that requires no PC.

Damn this is one awesome review that has left me droolingbiver this game and waning to play it already. The graphics looks really cool from the screenshots and tye idea behind the game is great as well.

You know, with a cheap headset like this one, any smartphone can play VR games. This is a good game to play with that type of VR set. You will also need a bluetooth game controller to use with it though.

Defenitly a great review..this game wins my heart

images(12).jpeg

You just gotta love this game. I have a friend that's seriously into it and when I ask about it just to get the vibes, the way he explains it would make you wanna travel to his place just to see how fun it is from his reviews..

And now, @alexbeyman just confirmed same thing too.

I guess I'll have to call him back (cuz he's a jerk), and tell him "after all, for the very first time, you chose something that really made sense". Lol

Nice review my friend

Augmented Empire is in the tactical RPG genre.

Lol. I think I prefer Soccer games. Don't mind me tho, I'm so addicted to it that other genres doesn't really interest me. I think I'll prefer watching. How about uploading a video @alexbeyman?

Great review. I'm loving already. Lol

There is no helping me, an intervention would accomplish nothing at this stage.

I guess we both in the same shoe... Lol. My folks kinda complain, Buh I just can't help myself.

Lol. Quite an amazing review bro.

This game looks pretty awesome, well using a VR while playing it will make it more intresting, the graphics of this game are pretty cool, I didn't knew that you are a gamer too.

What an interesting story line and the game feels exciting like I’m playing it already reading your article. I bet that island is something like the waterfall stage of the contra game , just a comparism. Can this game be downloaded right away?

Yes, from the Oculus Home app on your phone as long as it's a Samsung Galaxy 6 or higher.

I use an iPhone I’d try to find it on AppStore.

This look like some badass kind of game.

Though it's the first I'm hearing about the Augmented Empire, it looks like an adventure game.

One will get lost in a Gear VR while playing this game; everything will appear so real

I became addicted to xcom, I want to try this one!

WOW !!!
Augmented Empire Game looks so beautiful. I know it's heaven to every game lovers.In this game their graphics and VR quality was mind blowing. Btw thanks for mentioning it's offer price. I think i'm gonna try this ....
Thanks @alexbeyman for this cool gaming review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61833.67
ETH 2414.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57