Trying to Avoid Spoilers for a Game

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Persona 5 (the) Royal is an improved version of the game Persona 5, with new characters, game mechanics and story content. I've already written about how I enjoyed Persona 5 and was excited about what the improved version has to offer.

Picture of a Dualshock 4 (the PS4's controller)

Image source: by Evan-Amos [Public Domain], from Wikimedia Commons

On October 31st, 2019, Persona 5 the Royal was released in Japan, exclusively for the PlayStation 4 (over there, the game's title is "Persona 5 the Royal"). As I intend to wait for the English version, I'll have to wait at least until spring 2020 to play the game (we still don't have the exact release date, and only know it'll be in spring 2020). This means I'll have to try avoiding spoilers until then!

Some people don't mind being spoiled about a game they were excited over, while others act like their whole experience will be ruined if they have the smallest bit spoiled. I usually don't mind being spoiled about a game, especially when it comes to the Persona series. I had major points spoiled for Personas 3, 4 and 5, but the plot twists leading to most of the spoiled points were still surprising and enjoyable to me, as they played out in ways I could have never imagined. But in the case of Royal, it's not a completely new game. Excluding the new content, most of the story is the same one from Persona 5 which I already know. So, this time, I would like to be unspoiled about the developments of the new story parts until I can fully experience them for myself sometime next year, so that I'll still have new things to look forward to. This means I'll have to avoid Persona 5-related videos on YouTube (and the website's recommendations), related wiki pages (obviously), Persona 5 content on social media (though I usually don't go on social media much outside of STEEM :P ), and fan fictions (yes, that was how I had some of the Persona 5 major endgame plot points spoiled).

It'll still be a while until I can play the game, though. If I end up getting spoiled in the meantime, it won't be the end of the world, as I'm sure I'll enjoy the game as much as I enjoyed my second and third playthroughs of Persona 5 even though I already knew the story. Still, I accept the challenge. Let's see what happens until then (hopefully nothing :P ).

What about you? Do you usually try to avoid spoilers before playing a game you were excited about, or don't you mind being spoiled?


Thank you for reading! This post is participating in the 57th edition of @qurator's Toss Up Thursday contest. If you are also a member of @qurator, and if you liked my post and would like to support me, consider upvoting the comment with my entry (only upvotes from Qurator members count). The vote value doesn't matter (it can even be a minimal 1% upvote as long as it's from a Qurator member). Thank you!

Not a Qurator member yet? Then you may want to check out this post that explains what the project is all about, how to join, and how to get bigger upvotes from them. Registration is free!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40