Disgaea: Week Of Darkness

in #gaming6 years ago

I'm so excited for Disgaea this week. Here I'll talk about random Disgaea topics, both personal about me and news about the series.

Cover

This last week I finished Disgaea's 1 Etna's mode (after long long time of grinding) & started playing Disgaea 2 PC!! With the news of Disgaea 5 -Complete- getting a PC version I'm excited for the series more than ever!! So in this post I'll talk about random Disgaea things~

Disgaea: Over 9000!... Reasons to Play.

20171224183143_1.jpg

As in the review in my main account, Disgaea is about humor and abusing the game mechanic. The Netherworlds & stories of Disgaea are built on its tactics system, and characters talk a lot about leveling, and gaming culture concept and the game knows how to time its jokes, while still offer an emotional story.

The game requires too much grinding, and it plays every skinner box method to make its content bigger & harder to achieve. Everything in Disgaea can be leveled from characters to items, and you can reach level 9999 multiple times w/each character!! Some people spend over 1000 hour on this game (I spent +120 hours on Disgaea PC to get three out of many endings.)

The amazing thing is that all makes sense in the games world. When I play I don't feel I grind just for the sake of it. (Unlike how I feel with most MMOs.) There is story reasons to do so~


Disgaea 2 PC, More Content, Better Mechanics

AdellStyle.jpg

I'll probably make a big post about Disgaea 2, it has my favorite character of all the Disgaea's I played/watched. It has different cast, different story, and improved gameplay. I won't judge which story is better. D1 focuses on justice & friendship, while Disgaea 2 on following beliefs with a bit of romance.

One thing is for sure:
Disgaea 2 is way better PC version than the first game,
especially that I played the PSP version before (the reason I loved the series) and found many things refreshingly improved here. From graphics to the controls.

One thing I disliked about Disgaea 1 is how hard leveling Healers can be. Startoing wih D2, games in the series give EXP for healing, the quick buttons Excute (R2,) End Turn (L2,) & Lift (L3) in the PC version shortens the playtime by %5-15 as seconds wasted navigating the menus each turn can pile up.

For now I'm still playing going for the normal ending,
Hopefully I write more sometime.


Disgaea 5 Complete Is heading to PC

Disgaea5PC

Last month it was announced that D5 will get a PC version, but I only heard about it 3 days ago. Being one of the many games I wanted to get Nintendo Switch for, I got really excited!!

The game is the most powerful entry in the series, most of the main characters from the previous entries return to this one. Nippon Ichi Software always improves its over-the-topness, and I watched some Lets Plays to know the story (because not gameplay but only story is enjoyable when you see others play.) So I have extremely high expectations for Disgaea 5!!

Funny, I was going to say Disgaea 5 didn't have price tag,
but they added while I'm still writing the post!!
$50 is too much for me at the moment,
But I think it's fair/good price.



That's what I have now,
I feel I only wrote this post to channel my excitement but It's longer than I thought it would be.
Should've posted it in my main account after all~


All images are from Disgaea games on PC/Nintendo Switch, used for review purposes only. The title is a pun on the first game's title.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65399.87
ETH 2939.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66