Why I Don't Download Pirated Games Anymore

in #gaming8 years ago

There are many excuses people make when downloading a game from piracy sites, "I don't have money" "it's only a digital copy, it's not like company money is lost" "I don't like the company" "the game is buggy" and many more excuses. But as the guys at Extra Credits once said

"if we're still pirating the game to play it, it renders all these arguments meaningless. because the game apparently still worth playing despite the flaws"

I've been guilty of playing pirated games for many years. I live in a country were buying a pirated/hacked game is the normal thing. we have all the latest games in the shops for less than $5 and obviously the developers don't get anything from it.

But when I think the matters from the developers side, I see myself as a criminal. Those people who spent years make something I enjoy and they don't get a single thing from it? I know I can't buy legal games from my country. but that didn't doesn't justify what I do.

So I started searching for a way to help the developers of games I like, one day I found about steam but there was a problem, Paypal don't support our country and I don't have a credit card (most people here don't). so I couldn't buy games.

The problem was solved with the help of Bitcoin and HumbleBundle, I started buying games legally while stopping gradually from buying games from my country. it's been months since I downloaded a pirated games and I'm now saving to buy a 3DS from amazon by the release of Pokemon Sun & Moon (if I can, I need more money).

Luckily in the future more people will start to support the developers, and companies find ways to publish their games to my country legally.

Did you like this article? you have something to mention? did I make a typo? please tell me in comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72