[Steam Gaming] Recieved an Alert! Game(s) Removed From My Account?

in #gaming4 years ago

A Steam Product code you activated has been removed from your account.

I woke up to this unsettling Alert in my Steam client. It told me that some game(s) that I have activated in my account got revoked and removed from my account's library.

The alert stated that the removed product is called Complimentary reviewer package, but since I don't have a game with this name, and because it's my first alert I assumed that it's a package of games that I have purchased one day and it probably contained one of the games I used to play.


l7uggx.jpg
Glitch Simulator 2018: It probably simulates glitches

So, in my shocked state, I looked into my Library, especially my important games and the favorites category (which I use for games I'm currently playing.) To my relief I haven't lost any important game and definitely not a game I have installed on my system.

The wording of the Steam alert though made me a bit frightened since it mentioned "problem processing payment" and there are barely any game that I have bought directly from Steam. (Almost all of my games are gotten from Humble Bundle.) So it can't be it right?

So I did some research to find more about this so-called Complimentary reviewer package. According to some reddit thread, it seems the package has been removed from everyone accounts less than a week ago.

I managed to find which games were in it. The package contains few games and DLCs. All of them were removed from the Steam Store some time ago. You can check the full list of SteamDB but here are some notable games from it:

  • Athopiu - The Final Rebirth of Hopeless Incarnate
  • Asset Flip Simulator
  • Glitch Simulator 2018
  • ISIS Simulator
  • -Occult Raise-
  • -Occult preRaise-
  • -Occult RERaise-

If you haven't of these games, (or guessed from there names,) they were a bunch of extremely-low-quality games that were sold in cheap bundles or given in free giveaways. I probably got them either from Indiegala along with other games I actually wanted, or from some random giveaway I don't remember.

bcrxhv.jpg
Occult Raise gameplay screenshot

Actually even though my game library lost some weight, I'm relieved and don't feel upset about this at all. I didn't care about these games and sometimes I think it would've been better if I didn't support the developers of them (to be fair, some terrible games can be fun because they are terrible.)

While I had most of these games before they were removed from my library, I didn't get to play any of them. I maybe wanted to play Athopiu. Not sure why, but it's a RPG Maker game.

5cpuqx.jpg
Asset Flip Simulator: The Zero Effort Project

Since Asset flips are almost always bad I wanted to see how bad Asset Flip Simulator is too. (So I did while writing this post, see the image above!) Finally, the -Occult- is a trilogy of games and it has a bunch of DLC which makes me think it's not as bad as the others right? RIGHT? ...I take that back.

Anyway, this is what happened to me today and I believe my thoughts written above could be an interesting read.

Did you encounter a similar event?
Did some of the games got revoked from your account?
Please tell me what you think in comments!


Part of me is actually glad Steam is getting rid of all this clutter.
All images are screenshots from the mentioned games.
Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!
If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83