[Game Review] Ambre: a Heart Breaking Kinetic Novel

in #gaming7 years ago

I didn't take the "heartbreaking" part seriously when I played this. and I was totally wrong... This is a sad game with cute visuals .


So I came back with another Visual Novel (I play a lot of them recently). It's free on steam but it's short (took me about 2 hours to finish). So this would be a short review. And since this game depends a lot on its twist. I won't post any spoilers.

Ambre: a Heart Breaking Kinetic Novel

Here's a Steam Link

The story follows Tristan a man in his thirties, very troubled and lonely since his wife "left". He finds a young girl in the park. She said that she lost something but doesn't remember what it is or who she was (She only remembers her first name: Ambre). Since she also don't remember her parents he invited her to his house where she won't feel could. (Child Kidnapper +1)

20170923071727_1.jpg

There she finds an interesting child-like room full of toys. (Child Kidnapper +1) He tells her that it's his wife room but she can stay there since his wife is no longer "here", and she'll be happy that someone is enjoying her room.

Ambre who was supposed to stay for a short while until she remembers her parents stayed for days, then weeks and months... and started to develop feelings for Tristan.

20170923085007_1.jpg

And the cute days end there.....

The Game Is Not What It Seem Like

There are many points in the game where something didn't make any sense... I mean as I said above.. someone in his thirties who lives alone can't just take a girl from the street and let her live in his house. unless he is a child kidnapper, but Tristan didn't seem that kind of person.

20170923085643_1.jpg

But it's not what it seems like.... the game is not one of those R18 games (though I don't recommend it for teens).

There's a really interesting twist that I don't want to spoil, and by the end everything that didn't make sense at the start will make sense there.

This game while looks cute is very sad and you probably should prepare. something happy beforehand to watch/play it after finishing this.

The Game Takes On a Real-Life Problem

One of the problems shown early in the game is the greed, and the how the girls imagine a fairy-tale future (and the wrong understanding of these fairy-tales, I mean... who thought "Cinderella talent is being pretty"?)....

And how the celebrities live empty lives with only the audience to tell them they're not empty.

Novel and Movie heroines all ran after the same goal, after the lure of profit, wealth, luxury - a life where everything would be easy, but everything would have lost its taste, a dull and hollow life; an eternal masquerade.

But this existential emptiness was just as empty to fill: you only had to consume and be consumed. you only have to spend more.....

quoted from the game.

The problems shown in the late of the game are very hard to ignore, but I want you to play the game so I won't spoil them.


Conclusion

20170923090448_1.jpg

Sadness is shown in a cute way and the cuteness only serve to make the game more sad....

If you don't mind feeling sadness and some tears, I really advice you to play this game... don't stop midway if you saw something that seems inappropriate. the ending will explain these things and I feel it'll be worth it.

But I don't recommend this game if you don't like reading or if you want something that leaves you happy. And I don't recommend paying it when you're depressed because it might make you depressed more.


By the way... Ambre is the french for amber and it's a meaningful name in this context.
for now I'll play something funny.... Like Disgaea or something....
Sort:  

Let me guess, it's him that actually left? Will check it out, nonetheless.

Check it out, you might be surprised by what actually happened.

Have you tried Narcissu? At least the first one is free on Steam and piles on the feel train as well. Great music, and a real life setting. Not at all what I was expecting when I picked it up but well worth in my opinion

Yup played the first two, and want to play "Little Iris" next.... I wrote a review for the first one, and I want to write a review for the 2nd Side.

It's a really good game!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66666.50
ETH 3503.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71