[Game First Impression] Jurassic City Walk

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Despite how unpolished it is, Jurassic City Walk game can be very fun and challenging if you like the premise of it.

FirstImpression2.jpg

This is my second "First Impression post." So here's what I do in these:

Looking at my backlog I decided to play as many games of them and think whether to try finishing them or not. Since many of them are from Indiegala you can guess the chances.

Jurassic City Walk

Jurassic City Walk is a clearly a low budget Game. Got it from one of indiegala bundles and I downloaded it not expecting much. But after playing the first 12 levels of it (around 1 hour) I can say despite how unpolished it is. It's fun to play for short sessions.

The game is about a dinosaur who got inside a city for reasons not explained in the game itself. You control it and destroy everything in your way.

Gameplay

You're put into a city without explanation. You have a health bar in the top left corner, and your score is just below that. There are humans who run from you and your main enemies are tanks.

0gtgfi1srz.jpg

Once sighted, you are dead.

The game expects you to know what you should do,
and that may be annoying to many players.

All the 12 levels I played were in the same town. Some levels require you to just walk and destroy the small stuff you see.

While the majority of levels will ask you to destroy until you get a score number. Some levels require you to do some specific objective, like surviving until the timer runs out, or destroying a power plant, in the latter case there is a direction bar leading you to your goal.

DirectionToGoal.jpg

While the city doesn't have much of variety between levels, I think the enemies (tanks) get smarter the longer you play. They were too stupid I thought of them as non-existent in the first few levels but after that, they were making strategies to trap me down.

Choose Your Dinosaur

In my first impression play-through, I only unlocked the 2nd Dinosaur and the difference was vast. The larger Dino was slower and easier to hit but getting points to win overshadowed that handicap.

3rwza1rkez.jpg
And the buildings had lights too...

Unlike the first Dragon, this one can destroy buildings! But with its large size and slow movement, it's easier to get attacked too, I found that sessions with the larger Dino are always shorter.

The variation between the two Dinosaurs made me excited to unlock the next two ones, but I didn't know how I unlocked the second Dino in the first place.

Final Thoughts

82fgr0tn86.jpg
The main menu.

Jurassic City Walk really needs some polish to become a hidden gem. A better menu, a backstory to uncover, and some clear "Mission Objective/More variety in levels" can make it a memorable game.

The game has at least 50 levels but even with that, I think Jurassic City Walk is a short game, I got half of the achievements in just 1 hour and I feel the other half is within my reach. Or at least that's the impression I got.

Will I try to complete this game?

Probably. But not a priority.

Cover image is made using the game's header and loading screen. All screenshots are taken by me, from the Jurassic City Walk on Steam.
Sort:  

Congratulations Steemian! Because you have created excellent content, you have received an upvote from us!

We represent STEEMPUNK-NET, the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game on STEEMIT. Meet other Clockwork Fighters our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

If you dare, step into the Clockwork Arena and test your skills against other Steemians.

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet :
[50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]

hi @ahmadmanga

Thx for your kind comment under my latest post (china's printing money). I appreciate.

Just checked your profile just to show my little support in return with a comment and upvote.

Please continue up with creating interesting content - it may be hard at the beginning to build reach and solid followers base.
Steemits needs solid content builders so just dont ever give up! :)

Already followed and upvoted :) Cheers,
Piotr

Thanks for the kind words!!

Please continue up with creating interesting content - it may be hard at the beginning to build reach and solid followers base.
Steemits needs solid content builders so just dont ever give up! :)

That's what I believe too! it helps that I found some people who share my niche!

graphic of the game is very bad

It really is, doesn't it?
Z20180926064507_1.jpg


But people my age don't care a lot about graphics, for 30 year old gamers the best games are like this:

Z20180926173304_1.jpg



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9928208487378701
This post was voted: 100%

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

This game is awfully familiar to some other game, but eh I won’t stress out about it now. Anyways, upvot’d and resteem’d.
6D12AE7C-C9D6-49C4-B4F4-393FEC0473D2.gif

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70