[First Impressions] Indiegala's "Chain Reaction" Games

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

"Yuzi Lims," "Psi Cards" and "Run, my little Pixel." This is my first impression about three games from my backlog.

t66qlfpwdx.jpg

This is the third post in my "First Impression" series. Here's what I do in these:

Looking at my backlog I decided to play as many games of them and think whether to try finishing them or not. Since many of them are from Indiegala you can guess the chances.

Chain Reaction is one of the bundles I obtained lately. Some of the games header images were good and the bundle contained +15 games (and their soundtracks) for a cheap price.

But after playing some of the games I realized why they were that cheap. Half of them don't deserve a mention.

7mxvfm3jhe.png


Run, My little Pixel

This game does its job, a runner game with some shooting. In my first impression run, I spent most of the time losing, but I haven't played these games enough to know if the game is hard or it's just me.

08ur2ro2iy.jpg

The simplicity of its art (but not menus) made the game seem more refined than it actually is and I liked how this game teaches you about its control scheme and in the first parts without feeling like an unskippable tutorial.

84gph34mkf.jpg

Something worth mentioning is that when you retry after losing the game shows you the spots you lost at previously. I thought it's a good design choice.

Will I play this game again?

Probably No...
But some people might love it.


Yuzi Lims: Anime Runner

I love #anime and the cover looked great.

Yuzi Lims: Anime Runner is a typical endless runner game and you get points by running and getting coins. I like the concept of this game, but I was disappointed about its execution.

83rwy4wsz7.jpg

It felt it's like badly ported mobile game. The I don't want to criticize it very much, but sometimes there's that weird red rectangle? Is it supposed to show ads?!

There isn't much in it than what you see on its Steam page. Only if you love endless runner games and anime very much you might like this game.

I think it'll work better as smartphone game though, there is an audience for it.

Will I play this game again?

Very unlikely. This game place is somewhere like itch.io not Steam.

Psi Cards

I admit it, I still don't know how this game's system works. At first, I thought it was "memory" game where you have to remember each card other-side. but it seems it isn't as the cards switch places every time. I finished four levels and I still don't know why/how I won.

eg71jpma81.jpg

Psi Cards presentation is very good, the background sound of each level fits perfectly with the theme of it. Each level presents a culture and the cards hold their symbols, I felt the art of their design.

8w9b3e3hxm.jpg

The game comes up with +450 achievements so achievement hunters might find this game appealing, in my first 5 minutes I got around 13 achievements already.

Will I play this game again?

Well, with the nice atomsphere I'd like to try it again. Maybe do a completionist run if I had time.

Final Thoughts

Chain reaction wasn't one of the good indiegala bundles but it's not the worst too. Psi Cards and some of the other games might worth double the bundle price for some people.

There are other games I redeemed from this bundle, so what do you think? Will you be interested in reading about them? What are your thoughts about the games?

I'm looking forward to read your comments.

7mxvfm3jhe.png


For the cover image I used the games header images + one screenshot from "Psi Cards" game. All other screenshots are taken by me.
Sort:  

Dude, your writing has improved a ton! This is probably one of the best I've seen out of you yet!

Thanks for reading, from few posts ago onward I used Grammerly so there are less typos.

Dude, your writing has improved a ton! This is probably one of the best I've seen out of you yet!

It's funny because I read your comment just after I posted my follow-up post to this one.

Also this one of the first posts where I use my image line-breaks.

Your comment is
UpvotedByAhmadmanga.png

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

I personally like your first impressions posts, nice info on bundles I may not have heard about! Keep it up :)

Thanks, I'm happy that there's at least two people reading them.

I personally like your first impressions posts, nice info on bundles I may not have heard about! Keep it up :)

UpvotedByAhmadmanga.png

Thanks again for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57