A trip down to the gaming memory lane

in #gaming6 years ago


Each of us has their own story of why and how they started to be a gamer. As for me I started at the age of 3. in fact my first memory in life was waking up to play SUPER MARIO BROS. today, I want to share with you guys how I Started as a gamer and how it shaped my whole life


MY EARLY YEARS


I started as a gamer way back when i was 3 years old. My biggest influence was my father. He and his siblings were avid gamers. I was fascinated of how video games work and so was easily immersed on it. I started playing Super mario and contra on our family computer then later on moved to street fighter and legend of zelda on the SNES. I was a bright child gamer back then. At the age of 3 I started finishing Contra all by myself, getting that 99 lives on super mario bros. and finishing the whole street fighter game whoever character I choose. I love challenges and I love stepping up to it. That may be one of the factors why I love computer games. The challenges.


up to this day when I see this logo, the sound effect that comes with it still plays on my mind

I also played some old PC games like Doom and Mortal kombat where I played it in my dad's office. Yes, there were some times when my dad would just leave me at his office and let me play while he does his daily work. Then came the first batch of handheld gaming console. the Nintendo game boy. where I played super mario for many number of hours. I even finished it several times and that was at the age of 5 or 6 if I correctly remember.


The golden age of gaming


the release of Playstation 1 or PS1 for short was ,for me, the start of the golden age of gaming. It was when gaming was widely known and many people was hooked into playing video games. It was also when the best feeling you could ever had was when you see the game load up after the playstation logo disappears. I was around 3rd grade when my dad bought me a playstation. I could even remember myself waking up earlier than the usual to play games before I go to school. Way back I played a lot of Tekken 3, Gex enter the gecko, Auto destruct and the likes. Later on more games were developed for PS1 and that is when I put my efforts into one genre of game, RPGs. I remember playing Final fantasy 7 and 8, legend of legaia, Suikoden, Castlevania, Legend of dragoon, Legend of mana, Digimon, Resident evil series, brave fencer musashi and silent hill. I t was funny tho that my dad forbid me to play horror games. He aid that playing those games would just scare myself, The inner gamer in me retaliated and I exchanged whatever games I have to my classmates to a resident evil or silent hill game and finished it without my dad knowing. It was also more challenging to play these kinds of games before due to lack of help that one can get to finish the game. Unlike today where you can just search for walkthroughs over the internet. One can be stuck at a certain area of the game for several days.

gaming throwback shall we?

After some time of playing PS1 games, I started playing PC games. I started with warcraft, starcraft, red alert 1, 2, and yuri's revenge. It was also when Online and Lan games started booming. I started with Ragnarok online (yes I bought those cards), Dota 1, Counter strike, O2jam and gunbound.


Current day


As of now I am still into gaming but more of PC gaming than console. Though when a console game is released on PC I immediately play it. Also today I am into e-sports. Currently, I am an assistant at a local streaming channel here in the Philippines where in I help with some of their contents. I mostly play Dota 2, PUBG, Tekken 7 and CSGO whenever I can. Surely, Gaming helped me shape the way I am right now. I never regretted a single minute I used in playing computer games. Proud gamer here!!!


Please do support @surpassinggoogle, he has been an amazing person. I support him as a witness. I voted for him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. It would be very much appreciated if you do the same by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and then type in "steemgigs" at the first search box. If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Sort:  

Nothing ever will be quite the same as those first games we play as kids. For me it was Sonic the Hedgehog 2 on the Sega Genesis.

s2.jpeg

that was a good game too. my uncle played too much of sonic and still playing every sonic game there is up to now. hahahaha

You totally speak my language!

Battle city and twinbee hold a special place in my heart. Lol

man how could I for get those. yeah those games were lit. played tons of battle city on family computer. played it with my dad and uncle. Twinbee too. I even play twin bee up to now on emulators

Those were the times when games are about the actual gameplay and not about graphics. Lol

Congratulations! GamersUnited has chosen this post as our post of the day - so we've resteemed it!

Keep up the excellent content, and be sure to use the hashtag #GamersUnited in your future posts for a chance to be featured in our upcoming daily gaming digest posts!


Please upvote this comment so that we can grow and help our members grow even faster - every vote helps!

Gamers United


Discord: https://discord.gg/tyQQ9a2

thanks @gamersunited ! will surely make more contents like this in the future!

Contra, I literally still play this game even till date just love everything about it and with emulators you can now save your game play.

same here. I have every kind of emulator saved on my flash drive just so i feel like playing it on the office, hahahah

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

showing my age here... my first 'console' was an Atari 2600 :-)

wow! one of the holy grails of gaming, I've been dying to get a hand on one of those. I also wanna try out the very old Visual boy. The very first 3d nintendo console.

I've still got mine, but only a few games that I got with it at the time. I never bought any more :-(

The golden age for me started with the SNES, included the original Gameboy, N64, and the PS1. I started with the Atari at a similar age!

n64 is a pioneer too if my memory does not fail me. It was where some of the best games were released too. Golden eye, Legeng of zelda ocarina of time, the very first smash bros. were released there too. yea I would include it in that golden age too.

I don't think we have ours anymore, though I should check because man I am needing nostalgia of playing on the consoles, not emulators. :D

It was pretty nice reading this! I started on gaming myself when I was about 3 years old as well, The first memory that comes to my mind is playing Mario Kart 64 with my dad and my sister on our Nintendo 64 which I later used to play the likes of Star Fox 64 and TloZ: Ocarina of time. Looking back at this era of gaming is just refreshing and nostalgic, thank you for writing this and bringing back memories!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54