You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Video Game Addiction - Disease or Disorder?

in #gaming5 years ago

Can you give me an example of overreaction to video game bans, other than someone's opinion? I've heard of the odd parent who won't let their children play games. I've only seen over-reaction to gaming violence or to a lack of 'positive female roles', but mostly warning were just slapped onto the games, or it was left up to the industry itself.

I do agree the gaming industry won't do a damn thing if left to themselves. I mean the odd company may give it a try, but most of the successful ones are interested in making things profitable and fun.

There is a fine line between addiction and fun. As the games get better and better, it will become a bigger problem.

Sort:  

These are pretty recent.
https://www.pcgamesn.com/playerunknowns-battlegrounds/pubg-banned-india
https://www.theverge.com/2019/3/14/18265945/college-students-arrested-pubg-india-ban-police

Well, games do get better and better production value over time but I wonder if it actually becoming more fun. It is becoming more addictive due to devs incorporating psychological tricks on games. That's not the fault of the medium, is it?

#sbi-skip

That is interesting. It seems they are banning PUBG mainly because of violence but also because of addiction. Since it is only a single game, I would like to think it's mainly because they have a problem with that game specifically and not addiction in general.
I don't live in India, so it doesn't affect me. I also guess since that game was made in Korea and not India, they are acting like the Chinese on the matter and mostly upset that they aren't making much money on the game. Me thinks there is a nationalist and not globalist agenda here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45