Game Studies: Gamification & the blockchain

in #gamestudies8 years ago (edited)

Dear Community, my name is Alex Pfeiffer and I am head of the center for applied game studies at Donau Universität Krems in Austria. We are in the field of game research and game development for serious purposes for more than a decade. This here is just a very first introduction and mainly a test-posting for me to learn the steemit plattform, but my ambition is to regualary blog about game studies topics. 

What is your opinion about gamification & the blockchain?

best regards, 

Alex Pfeiffer

Sort:  

Steemit new front-end will include strong elements of gamification. You can see that on the Steemit Roadmap

It's projected for Q3. I'm sure they would enjoy your input. Join us on steemit.chat :-)

Thank you for the link to the roadmap.

Welcome @alexpfeiffer, since you present yourself with full name and occupation, would you mind identify that it is really you http://www.donau-uni.ac.at/de/universitaet/whois/11017/index.php from your official twitter or other means?

Hi fyrstikken. Is it very uncommon to post here with the real name? I just did a posting here: https://www.facebook.com/appliedgames/?fref=ts to tell the followers of our center for applied game studies to come here and read my future articles. I hope this is proof enough.

I've checked your facebook page and it's awesome! We're looking forward to reading your works, AGS @alexpfeiffer
Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you hulkbuster. this is my private page on fb: https://www.facebook.com/alexpfeiffervienna however I was looking for a great community to post my thoughts in english. And I guess I found this here on steemit.

No, it is not uncommon - but we have a mixed population here of known and unknown users, and since I noticed your post I just wanted to know it was you and not someone impersonating you :)

welcome to Steemit :)

Thanks for your explaination. It seems to be amazing how the community takes care of such things.

Your welcome, if you ever want to talk or chat with us, we are active 24/7 at http://steemspeak.com

Omg @alexpfeiffer. This is one of the places my study in psychology brought me to. Gamification and blockchain = amazing.

Please contact me at beyond bitcoin at gmail.

Hi Fuzzyvest, is it gmail.com and beyondbitcoin written together ;)? For me the blockchain especially the possibiliy of creating your own tokens (and giving them value) is basically pure gamification. Have a look at this social network here with the 3 currencies. You can say it is the league of legends of social media ;).

Yes. All together ;)
And yes. Im one of the people who was here before steem helping the community as we built the tech that made this!

Ohhhh i get giddy seeing people like you joining man...

Man....i can only imagine how you feel joining steemit. Lol. I bet its a gamificationgasm. :D

Fuzzy, you should recruit Alex. He has the exact set of skills needed for both Peerplays and Steemit. Maybe he would accept a blockchain job?

Alex? Alex who is my first q.
My second q is what skills does he have and how you see him working with us?
Thanks!

Hi Fuzzy, I guess Dana is talking about me as this dialog appears in my comment section ;). if you are curious about me, that is my CV in English: www.pfeiffer-medienserver.at/steemit/cv/cvalexpfeiffer.pdf .... since 2010 I am head of the center for applied game studies at Donau Universität Krems in Austria. Responsible for ~ 150 Students and a couple of projects funded by the European Union, the FFG (AUstrian Science Funds) or directly from companies like Microsoft or Samsung. Besides that I am co-owner of a company in Vienna exerimenting with AR/VR/interactive Storytelling tools pimary for educational purposes. However, I am happy to help. Peerplay sounds interesting as it fits to a project/science work I did 2012 in Vegas. But I am going to write about that here in a blockposting anyway a bit later ;). Still looking for a good structure writing 30 + Articles about gamification that build on each other AND make sense as single postings ;).

Steem needs as many people like you as possible. Hell the entire blockchain space does. It is gamification experts who will bring this (and their coins) to the masses. Make no mistake ;)

Ironic how people always used to say "I wish these kids would stop playing video games so much and go outside and do something productive"...never realized those little kids were training for the future of money and the cross pollination between it and the IOT. sigh....you are surrounded by people every day who love this stuff.

Bring them all....

P.S. I try lately not to give 100% votes, but for those paying attention. I hope you will not downvote this one. Its worth every penny to bring alex on as part of Voltron...

hi fuzzy I am writing you an email right now to the mail adress you provided yesterday. thanks for your nice words.

The blockchain has a lot of potential for games of various sorts. It can keep costs low and reliability high. These are the early days still. We will see much more in the near future.

Thank you. I am sure it is the future. The blockchain will be a Gamification Engine in a very positive sense.

Please contact the Peerplays team because they seem focused specifically on that but I've always been in favor of gamification.

Hi, do you know the people at peerplays or are you a Part of the project? What I ve read from the Website it is a pretty good concept.

Contact Fuzzyvest on Steemit.

Future of Gaming and Gambling = https://www.peerplays.com
It's that simple.

Hi vato - for me you still have to separate Gaming and gambling (iGaming). Both exist seperatly for 1000th of years. However the two forms Steal from Each other E.g. Games take Sounds from Gambling (like the loot Sound in WoW) and Gambling machines try to Tell Stories with the aim to keep the Players in the zone. And there is a new mixed Form. The competitive Guitar Hero machine or awesome blockchain approaches like firstblood.io and others. Reading the Concept of peerplays this is the big competition for classic (often govermental regulated) gambling providers. And they have to move forward to continiously attract Young-Adults. We live in very exciting times :).

This is wonderful idea. Gamification and blockchain going to change not only Steemit but also the huge Education market across the globe. You are welcome and double thumbs up.

my first chapter is rdy to read :). thanks for your reply. I worked on a couple of educational projects. E.g. this EU Project: www.toolkit-gbl.com if you like to have a closer look. Are you from the field (GBL?)

No. I am basically a journalist and doing my research on blockchain for my forthcoming book. I am interested in most of the topics, including gamification and the blockchain.

If you have any further questions regarding Gamification process and mechanics don t hesitate asking me here or via email to [email protected] - i Started with Cooperate Gamification in ~ 2003 (thus there was no Name for it) and I am Heading the Center for Applied Game Studies at my University since 2011.

Great. Certainly, I will do. I require to some education contents. That time, i will contact you. Thank you so much for your goodwill gesture.

Np you are welcome

Would love to read more about gamification!
Cheers :D

I am sure I will Cover this from a lot of Different perspectives the next Weeks ans Months.

my first article (chapter introduction) is rdy to read :).

Super! Thanks for sharing :D

Welcome to Steemit, I am happy to see someone like yourself here. I have had an idea to make a MMORTS game, like Game of War or Evony, with a resource trading market system where you can buy and sell resources for steem in game. This would give players the opportunity to make money while they play. I started to teach myself coding with the Unity program but am a long way from making something like that happen but I think creating a game like that would be huge for Steemit and the game industry. What do you think?

It is a Great idea of Course to replace the Classic 'Juwels for money' - 'in Game Ressourcen for juwels' principle and add a new layer that could e.g. Reward People that are helpful to Others. Lets Stay in Touch.

Yes, let's. I have followed you and can't wait to see what else you have to share here on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50