Vagabond Spirit

in #games6 years ago

My last posts have been about concerns that I personally faced while designing applications. I will tell you what the game is.

A very long time ago, I designed a fun online game with the code name "Vagabond Spirit." The game works as follows:

You are walking along in your neighborhood. You look down and see a round object you assume is a bottle cap. Your vagabond spirit realizes it is something else. Your vagabond spirit leaps from your body, grabs the object and discovers that it is a silver dollar!!!

"A Silver Dollar?!" it exclaims. "I could really go somewhere with this!"

Your vagabond spirit then heads out on its own.

To play the game you need a fitness tracker.

For each step that you take in the real world, your vagabond spirit takes a step in the vagabond world which consists of maps built from a variety of sources including Open Street Map. Your vagabond spirit will follow real trails in the real world.

Vagabond spirits do all their reckoning with a monetary unit called bits.

In olden days people would cut silver dollars in to eight equal wedges called "bits." For this reason, the silver dollar was known as a piece of eight.

The bits used in computer programs are named for this tradition.

As your vagabond spirit roams the vagabond world it will have adventures that involve things like a visit to a two bit diner. You might stay at a four bit hotel where you meet a two-bit comedian or even get a shave and a haircut for two bits.

The game carries forward the bits as cyber tokens. In order the facilitate the use of bits, I needed to create exchanges.

I also wanted to create exchanges to make arguments for free market economics.

I did due diligence on laws related to gaming tokens and despaired.

SteemIt has people interested in online exchanges. So, I thought I would dust off the project and see if there was any interest in a game like this.

I am interested in finding a few players who like the idea of a vagabond spirit that roams the world. How long would it take you to walk from New York to San Francisco? How long would it take to walk around the world?

The game is most interesting if you start at a park or historical spot near your home. If anyone wants to play the game, I will need their starting Zip code and a name of a park near their home and the name of a long walk that you would like to do such as the Appalachian Trail, the Pacific Crest Trail, the Pony Express Route, the Great American Trail, The Continental Divide Trail.

I will start the trails in North America, but will soon go through other countries and around the world. The game will be in English to start, but is designed so that I can translate it into other languages. I designed a login with fitbit's oath, but my fitbit broke. I might add a SteemConnect oath after I get three steem for the registration fee.

I hope to open source the game and will have code to discuss different designs for exchanges.

The picture shows a fitness tracker backed by oak leaves.

tracker.JPG

Sort:  

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83