Wolfenstein: The New Order

in #games4 years ago

This game is not good. I really don't have much else to say about it but I suppose i should mention that this game is quite old now as it was released in 2014 and I'm playing it now because I was "gifted" it by a friend. This game is terrible - even if it is free.

Everyone that was around during the dawn of FPS remembers Wolfenstein because it took what we already had, technology-wise, and made the first-person-shooter genre have a somewhat real-to-life story.

They ran with this ball and made a bunch of other games, some of which were good and some of which were the game I am talking about now.


Wolfenstein-The-New-Order-3.jpg

It isn't a terrible game because of the story... that is actually quite good. The game is terrible because the controls, the complete lack of any sort of open-world environment, and the one thing that really made me the most upset... the lack of a grenade button, is just unacceptable.

Seriously.... there is no grenade button despite the fact that you encounter them all the friggin time.


maxresdefault.jpg

If you want to use a grenade in this game... you have to hit 2 sets of buttons and completely abandon your main weapon in order to throw one.

While i realize this is perhaps more realistic it goes against everything that every other FPS game has ever done and it is a pain in the butt crack big time. I would go through it because i had not choice but the entire time all I could do was think about literally every FPS game i have ever played and how this was completely silly. It's just a terrible design.


Then there is the fact that this game is very story-driven and to me that means that there are a ton of cinematic sequences that really don't add much to the game but simply interrupt your gameplay over and over again.

Perhaps this was fun 6 years ago, but it isn't fun now. This game, regardless of your nostalgia or how much you loved the predecessors, should be skipped for sure. I got the game for free and after 2 hours of gameplay where I had to turn on the lights and stare at the controller to throw a grenade combined with weapon "powerups" that I did not want taking over my display without permission lead me to simply want to not have anything to do with this game at all.


PB8ro82ZpZP5xqHVTtgzxr9jRnPYTxeDK7ZMexdNxNwCDFoUoNdE8KGNJoqVFcNkXmcj8QPaGorgauZSzp9MaBFp6XiA8mhbSBRqsPEZKs4uL8uC.jpg

This isn't even from the same game (above image) but it is from the same franchise. It kind of sums up how I feel about "The New Order" in a general sense though.

I wish I could say that they went on to improve on this design but I fear from what I have heard about the "wheelchair levels" in future installments, that it really didn't get better... and will likely be relegated to obscurity in the not very distant future.

This game is a series of cinematic sequences that they focused a great deal on (as the above trailer would suggest) with a little bit of gameplay built in-between. Since I got this game for free I can't even recommend that people pay nothing for it. It's just frustrating to play.

Sort:  

This game was ok. i yet to play the newer one yet. The grenade deal is stupid. Youd think like other games you can press something like G to throw one real quick without needing to swap guns. The animation lowered the gun to get one off your belt and throw one. that was realistic enough in other games but this one....You almost have to know what to expect in advance to get ready to throw one if you really need to. No simple"oh shit that's not good...THROWING GRENADE!" it more like "oh shit that's not good! Must...lower...gun...then pull..grenade...out and.......DEAD"

ha! That's a wonderful way of describing it. I would normally accidentally pull out my knife instead of the grenade because they were right next to one another in the HUD. This would result in even quicker death :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44