NES Classic Mini Getting Re-Release by Nintendo

in #games6 years ago

For many gamers, the NES Classic Mini is a console that they missed out on and thought they would never get a chance to own. This was mainly due to scalpers that would purchase five or more units on release day, or restocking day, and then resell them for two to four times the initial cost. Nintendo has heard your cries, dear gamers.

On June 29th, the Nintendo NES Classic Mini will be re-released and made available for $59.95 at retail. There is no word from retailers on any measures they will be taking to stop scalpers though.

nes-classic-edition.png

Why Stores Like Scalpers

Most retail stores like scalpers and resellers. I am a reseller, not a scalper. I will not buy every unit of something at a store - not even on clearance. I take what will give me a healthy profit return and go on my way.

Unlike scalpers, I also donate a portion of my profits to local charities and children's hospital.

Stores like scalpers because a sale is a sale. The job of a store is to move merchandise. Scalpers often take as much as is available - in effect reducing the work a store has to put in to clear that space for the next items.

How to Stop Scalpers

Unfortunately, there is no real way to stop them completely. The best we can do is not buy product at their inflated prices. We see this each year with the hot item at Christmas, and we see tons of parents give in and buy it.

If buyers are not paying what scalpers want for stuff they will often move on to something else, or leave reselling completely because they are not making the returns they wanted.

Either way is a win for fans.

Patience is key

It boils down to paitence. Just like the NES Classic Mini. If you just had to have one a year or so ago, then yeah, you probably paid a scalper $100 to $200 for one. The patient fans may be able to get one in June at a much more reasonable price.

Just be careful folks. Not all resellers are scalpers and not all scalpers are resellers. Have patience and bide your time. Odds are, you will be able to complete your wish list at reasonable prices if you just have patience.

Sort:  

you could scalp a scalper by scalping their head with a scalper.

I had to read your comment a couple of times to get it. That is funny.

It would be nice if manufacturers of these kinds of products would be a little more flexible with production. If demand dictates it, why not do another production run?

Because it is Nintendo. They have a history of short changing fans with overhyping and under providing.

Even though I have all the games on the NES classic I still want one as a collectible. Hopefully theyre easy to get thks time.

I hope so too. While I am not interested in owning one myself, I understand the disdain a lot of fans had at the fact that they could not secure one the first time around.

I guess the real question is; will Nintendo stock this item for real this time? Sure, there will be a lack of supply by the holidays but will they keep these babies in stock for us by actually producing a sizeable amount? Seems Switch production has finally caught up so maybe they will.

This being Nintendo I am not holding my breath on there being plenty to meet demand.

Though, they did with the SNES Classic Mini. Stores around me have plenty available.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58514.85
ETH 2633.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48