Lion King 2 Unofficially Released on Sega Genesis

in #games7 years ago

Lion King was a popular movie and it was a popular video game license. Officially, there was no sequel released on the Sega Genesis but that has not stopped an unknown Chinese developer from creating a pseudo sequel.

The Lion King II features a rather long introduction, something we didn’t see a whole lot of on Sega Genesis back in the day. Some games like Gaiares had cut scenes and were cartridge based but it was not the norm. The colors in The Lion King II are well chosen and even feature some nice shading, an effect that was not exactly well used on the Genesis in many games.

For a Chinese knock off The Lion King II is pretty decent, there are quite a few cheap hits, the screen doesn’t adjust correctly for jumps (you can’t always see platforms below you) and the controls are a little “off” (you can’t move after jumping). This is more of a preview of the game, just to let people know it exists. I will have a longer video soon.

Sort:  

It's cool that some of those knockoff games are actually good. This looks pretty decent.

It is better than say the Ben 10 brawler but you can tell from the level design, this was not play tested all that much. Still a good effort.

I watched the video of the gameplay and I get the feeling of nostalgia even though I haven't even played the game lol.

I do remember playing this Lion King game on PS1 (so much fun):

For the Lion King 2 game on Sega Genesis, what does the piece of meat on the bottom left represent though?

I have no clue about the meter in the bottom left (there are no instructions for the game).

Now you got me wanting to check out the PSOne game (I love 2.5D action platform games).

Looks very nice.

It is better than most Chinese knock off games.

Awesome! I remember playing the lion king on my game boy! Thanks to today's technology i'm able to relive those child hood memories with an emulator on my cell phone :)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64623.89
ETH 3513.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46