Planeswalker deck of doom! aka The Bane of @kommienezuspadt

in #games7 years ago

cover2.jpg

I have an ongoing Magic the Gathering feud with @kommienezuspadt.
On most days, when I'm done reading tarot, I head to the coffee shop for a few rounds of Magic.

I just made a deck that has been winning more than usual.

It's a planeswalker deck, and I think I might call it 'The Bane of @kommienezuspadt'

@kommienezuspadt is my main Magic opponent/rival, and he's the only person I've played with this deck. My record with it is currently something like 18 – 2.

The really funny part is, that this deck started out as the pre-built Nicol Bolas planeswalker deck that was a birthday gift from @kommienezuspadt ! He gave me a wonderful present, and now I use it to destroy him! Funny stuff...

So, it revolves around 4 planeswalkers.

planeswakers.jpg

Tezzeret the Schemer, Ob Nixilis, and the 2 versions of Nicol Bolas from the Hour of Devastation set. There are quite a few artifacts that give mana in the deck, and Tezzeret creates mana producing artifacts as well. This is how I can be reasonably confident that I can cast Nicol Bolas for 7 or 8 mana.

In the early game, instead of casting creatures made to block, I'm trying to get the opponent to discard their hand. If they have no cards, they can't hurt me:)

nocards.jpg

Whispers of Emrakul is a great deal of fun to play. Discard a card... at random! Muahahahahahaaaaa!

I put a couple of other cards in just to add to the dicketry.

addedDicketry.jpg

I stole a play out of @kommienezuspadt 's playbook and added a Gonti Lord of Luxury. This allows me to cast one of the opponent's spells at my leisure.
Torment of Scarabs is an enchantment that I put on the opponent that causes them to lose 3 life every time they have an upkeep, unless they sacrifice a non-land permanent or discard a card. It's pretty much like a slow, constant bleeding.

I have also added a couple of nuke cards in case I end up facing an army of zombies.

nukes.jpg

These 2 can take care of most mass-spawning threats.

planeswakers.jpg

My planeswalker Ob Nixilis can kill creatures or allow me to draw cards, and Nicol Bolas is absolutely brutal. I've never lost a game when he was on the battlefield. Casting opponent's cards for free, doing 7 damage to them directly, or exiling everything they have on the battlefield other than land. This creates what MTG nerds call the 'win condition.'

All together, this has given me the edge in my ongoing MTG feud with @kommienezuspadt ...this makes me very happy.

Blessings to you Steemit, and happy fullish moon!

Sort:  

You two seem to have soooo much fun with this! So jelly haha
Happy Sunday friend!

Happy Sunday to you too!
I think today I'm going to see if my winning streak can hit 4 days in a row:D

Break a leg friend! Sending you hugs and luck! haha :)

The game has changed since I last played. Never heard of an emblem before, and what are the numbers inside the shields of a Planeswalker?

They are 'loyalty counters.' They pretty much work the same as life points. If the loyalty counter hits zero, the planeswalker goes to the graveyard
Emblems are conditions that can't be removed. The Ob Nixilis emblem is brutal

I understand. No kidding, the Ob Nixilis emblem is brutal. So the card would basically go into your graveyard after using it that way, right? But is it possible to put the same emblem for the second time on the same player later in the game? Meaning he would lose 4 life each time a card is drawn? And the Planeswalker cards are they some kind of unique cards where only one, let's say, Tezzeret the Schemer can be in play at once?

Both of those things are true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45