Remembering Sega Genesis

in #games6 years ago

sega-genesis-2-1092993.jpeg

I really miss Sega & all the great memories it brought me when I was little.Sometimes, I'll break it out for old times sake.The company is still around today, but nowhere as big as they use to be in the 90s & that is a shame as they were running strong during their time & giving Nintendo a run.Today though, I wanna share some of my favorite games that I played to death.

This game was your classic, on the edge cops whooping asses with their Martial Arts skills...beyond cool & reminds me of some inspiration that Kung Fury holds.

Streets of Rage.jpg

Toejam & Earl was your funky ass duo who's world was being infested by lame humans & your job was to capture them & send them back to Earth.

toejam-earlinpaniconfunkotron-1993-sega-1990.jpg

Golden Axe was somewhat a knights' tale of a trio of heroes sent out to whoop on the dark empire that was taking over.

image.jpeg

This game was & still is one of the hardest games.It's an awesome brawler & kinda in the style of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles but with frogs.If you passed the hyper tunnel, you have my respect.

maxresdefault (2).jpg

Splatterhouse was beyond brutal.It's another brawler but filled with horrific monsters & a sad story of Rick's family being slaughtered by demonic forces.

maxresdefault (1).jpg

Earthworm Jim is a very strange & funny game ran by a earthworm astronaut, hero shooting villians with his guns & whipping them literally with his self.The creators were for sure high when they made this.

Earthworm-Jim.jpg

Contra is tied with Dark Souls as the hardest series...enough said.

220px-Contra_-_Hard_Corps_Coverart.png

But I'd like to say thanks for checking my post out! Follow me for more strange & nostagalic stuff along with the weird & punk world.

Sort:  

I never had one, but just made a lil' Retropie out of a raspberry pi so I'm going to try some of these out.

I also recommend Pit Fighter, Zombies Ate My Neighbors & The Toxic Avenger.

Thank you!

I love games from the Genesis! I actually recently heard they are porting over all the Genesis games to Xbox One, PS4, and Nintendo Switch. I think like a compilation pack.

That would be pretty cool!

They actually did some awesome re-makes of Streets of rage that you might like. As for the rest of them, thank goodness for emulators!

They did a remake?!

There are quite a few, check them out on youtube. That new contra 2028 looks pretty cool too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94