💻 The Hardest Computer Game of All Time - Robot Odyssey - Part 5

in #games8 years ago

Alright guys, it's time to proceed to continue to where no one dared to go... 

I ended last part after calling the train car, now it's time to ride it! First I saved my game and then hopped on the train. Here is me riding past all the stations to get a glimpse of all the stations:

So there are 7 stations total. I got off at each one and then took notes for each station (reloading the save each time, since once you get off the train, it's gone). All the stations eventually lead back to the starting area, which means in order to visit each station and grab all the items, I will have to drop the token into the turn-style each time and perform the whole pull lever and push button action again to call the train.

  1. Robotoplatz (this just leads back to the starting area)
  2. Cobble 'Bot Square (contains an exit ticket sensor)
  3. Picadilly Circuit (a charging station for the crystals that recharge my robots!)
  4. Seer's and Robot (contains the chip 4)
  5. Jack in the 'Bot (leads to what I think is the exit of this level, but need exit ticket, also leads to muse robotique station)
  6. Muse Robotique (leads back to the starting area)
  7. Laundrobot (contains the exit ticket)

After knowing roughly what all the stations lead to, I decided to get off at cobble 'bot square first, to avoid wasting my ride, so to speak.

So in order to re-board the train, I must find the token again, since it is not at the place where I dropped into the token slot. After wandering around the main area, I found the token to be located in a maze guarded by yet another sentry.

So the token drops into a maze below the turn-style room.

This looked like a simple puzzle to solve, and it was. I just programmed the robot to keep going right, then up if robot's bottom face hits a wall, otherwise down if robot's top face hits a wall. As usual, the grabber must be set to be on, or it will not grab the token when it touches it. See the animation below:

So it essentially "bounced" through the maze.

For those interested in the actual circuit solution:

Easy~

So now I can keep repeating the cycle of getting inside the train station, riding the train, getting off at a station, retrieve the token, over and over again until I have completed everything I needed to do in all the stations.

The next puzzle is getting the exit ticket, the final piece of this level. 

So close yet so far.

By now you should know the game will never let you grab essential items by yourself and that you must program at least one robot to do the job for you. This one was relatively easy, I just positioned the robot to the top right of the exit ticket, then programmed it to go down until it hit its bottom face against a wall, then left until it grabs an item. Then when it has an item in its grabber, go right and up.

The end of level 2 is getting closer...

Now to do the usual end of level routine, grab everything and hop into the next level! I used one robot to keep a button pressed in Muse Robotique station, this allows me access back and forth between the main area and the Jack in the 'Bot station (since it is connected to Muse Robotique station). And brought everything from the main area back here, thus all the robots and items are once again united as a happy family and my hoard of items keep getting bigger.

United, at last.

Final inventory check:

Beginning to take up space in one of my robots, wiring is gonna get messy in this one!

Everything is in order minus the exit ticket, which I proceed to insert in the slot:

Inserting exit ticket.

Finally, it was just a matter of bringing everything into the portal!

Up up and away! To level 3 and beyond!

That's it for the second level of Robot Odyssey, overall not as hard since there were not too many new ideas introduced in this level. I think the next level will be a lot more challenging though! And from the testimonials I read online, the last few levels are hell compared to the early heaven-like levels in terms of complexity and difficulty.

See you guys in the next level!

Sort:  

Oh man, I am so glad you are being compensated for you efforts here! Still loving it, I gotta see what 'hard' is if these are the easy levels. :D

Yea I want to see just how hard this game can get!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.96
ETH 3483.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53