Short Review: Descent 2nd edition: Road To Legend, Rise of all Goblins campaign

in #games6 years ago

Sorry for the super long and confusing title. Anyway, I have finally started playing Descent today, using the Road To Legend iOS app. Being the complete noob I am, after reading a bit of rules over the weekend, I have started with the tutorial campaign, a.k.a. Rise of all Goblins.

I'm going to try and avoid any spoilers, but so far I'm loving it. It took me over two hours just to do this simple mission, but this was kind of expected given that I'm still learning, checking the rules all the time and so on. I decided to play with a full party of four because I've read that the game is best balanced for that, and I like having all the roles.

The background music and the short paragraphs with story or fluff text are really nice, even in the tutorial, where it's obvious they're not taking it too seriously. I expect the actual campaign to be even better.

Additionally, I find the fact that the app can "hide" rooms by default and only show them when you open a door a really cool feature, adding a surprise factor without letting you wait forever to be super ready, thanks to the peril mechanic (if you take too long bad stuff happens, basically XD). I also checked the campaign part tutorial, and the shop and training (unlock new skills with experience) are pretty OK.

All in all I've had a ton of fun, and I recommend both the game and the app to anyone that likes dungeon crawlers, or rpgs but doesn't have the time to play a "proper one" like D&D. I even think it's worth trying for someone that's used to playing PC RPGs like Baldur's Gate or Planescape Torment (or Pillars of Eternity if you want a recent one).

Since like I said I don't want to make any spoilers or reveal any of the surprises in the adventure itself, I won't say anything else. I leave you a couple of pictures I took. The second one has minor spoilers (you can see some of the monsters that show up at the end of the adventure).

Starting setup
WhatsApp Image 2018-03-04 at 19.51.49.jpeg
(Yes I play on the floor because I don't have a big enough table at home XD)

WARNING! Minor spoiler in the final photo ahead, sorry, I don't know how to hide it.

In the end I won!
WhatsApp Image 2018-03-04 at 21.22.29.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice writeup. I've never played by myself, only with a group. Sounds like it works just as well because of the Road to Legend app. Decent solitaire games can be hard to come by.

I really enjoyed it, and I would really recommend it. I have yet to play with some friends (hopefully we'll manage to get together and play next weekend), so I can't really compare, but I found the experience really fun and challenging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33