Steem Monsters- Starter Pack

in #games6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_11.png

Hello! Couple of days ago I asked where I should try Steem Monsters and I ended up buying a starter and 1 booster pack. This is a sort of update post.

First of all, you only need your posting key. And you can pay with SBD.

Screenshot_8.png

Secondly, it seems that the starter packs are premade and all the same, which I find extremely disappointing. They don't have any opening animation either, only boosters do. So unless you plan to win or buy more cards, this is probably a waste of money. You can maybe find a second hand starter pack for a better price. If everyone has the card, it's not valuable, no matter how cool, just like the Mew card from Pokemon :P

Screenshot_1.png

I'm still curious to try out the tournaments once they are out, but after that I might just give away my cards as a reward in one of my weekly contests :)

The booster I bought only gave me 2 new cards out of 5. It might be because of small number of cards or just my bad luck. I got only 1 rare which was a duplicate.

Now I feel that a big source of popularity of the game is because it's a convenient way to give as a giveaway. Moreover because it's still work in progress, there is still hope that the Steem Monsters will improve.

Screenshot_9.png

However, I dislike that they use the manipulative marketing tactic: don't miss out! Buy now while it's "cheap". (Paraphrasing)

I suggest to only join if you have the budget and find this fun. Definitely not for potential profit, For that you must do a thorough research :)

Screenshot_12.png

Do I regret buying the cards?- Yes.
But knowing me I'd probably do it again as I like first hand experiences.

Sort:  

Go in @bmj's raffle and see if you can win his collection, either to play with or to use as prizes XP

As far as I know they're only in alpha so that might be why there's a small amount of cards, or maybe you just got a lot of common cards? Well seeing as you've got them may as well sit and see how it plays, and if you don't like the game well least they'll be fairly easy to offload :)

I think I mentioned before that flipping cards is definitely profitable...if you're the type that likes doing research and stuff XD

goatsig

Thanks but I'm not too lucky with lotteries xD
Flipping cards? I think you need to buy a bunch first to get something worth it that way you cover all losses :P haha

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Secondly, it seems that the starter packs are premade and all the same, which I find extremely dissapointing.
It should be disappointing instead of dissapointing.

Oh that well! You joined XD I hope to see you in the tournament

Haha that's true ^^ Will see you there.

Hmmm... "... as I like first hand experiences." I like 👍 the clause. I wish 🌠 you greater luck always though.

Thank you very much ^^

Thank you for posting about your experience with monsters. I won one booster pack in the contest few days ago but do not have a starter pack and do not know how to claim my winning . All feels little bit confusing to me right now

Hmm that's weird. I received a few cards from a friend to see and I got instant notifications as soon as logged in for the first ever time. You need to log in for sure, but after that, once you receive the booster I'm pretty sure you can gift it or open it. So you can basically sell or give it away. If you open it and receive some super card then those sell for much more :)

Got my pack today on my steemmonsters account. Got one legendary card in this pack, but still need to learn more about how to play this game.

What do I need to do to pay with steemconnect ? I never used it before

There is no game yet I believe :) Just collecting until tournaments are released.
To use Steemconnect you need to give it authorization from your Steemit account. Sorry I don't remember exactly how.
https://steemconnect.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87