You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the Gaming Singularity?

in #games7 years ago (edited)

Hey. I read the thoughtful comment and thought, 'that's cool, lemme check this person out'. I go to your page and find all resteems but no intro post... or post at all, really. Hunh. A little suspicious, but you're new so I don't jump to conclusions. Then I image search your photo on Google to find that you are, in fact, a model!... Except, she seems to be a model named Rachael Cook, not someone named Layla. Of course, that could be the fake one, right?

Then how do you explain this? Or this?

I doubt that you're really her.

I'm telling you all of this to let you know that this sort of behavior will not be tolerated on this platform. People here aren't fools. If you don't want to show your face, don't post a face. Putting up a pic of a model to get upvotes and follows is manipulative and scammy.

And that's why you're getting flagged, in case you're wondering.

Now, if you put up a verification post (as explained in the FAQ), that's a different story.

But somehow, I doubt it.

Sort:  

Before you totally judge someone or their motives you should hear their side of the story first. What you did by “checking me out” and “image searching on google” is the exact reason why I no longer use social media or use my real photo on websites.
Not that it’s anyones business, but I was abused in a prior relationship. So much that I needed to break away. He seems to find me and does just what you did. I’m very protective of my body and safety.
A couple years ago I had it done twice on social media and actually had a perfect stranger come to my job. Someone I only conversed a few times online and he tracked me down. It’s scary as a female living alone. I’m not expecting you to understand. Just telling you why.
I only stayed on this platform because I find it facinating. I love the content, creativity and interaction. After researching Steem as an altcoin to invest in, I signed up. I never intended to post myself. I never had a “hustle” or a plan. I found a pic online by typing in features that resembles me most. I’m not a model. But I like to think I’m not unattractive either. I actually look very much like that girl. I would have used a generic blank avatar but I like the human side of the interaction here. I never come across “slutty” or sexual. I never flirt or lead anyone on. If I wanted to go about “scamming” people on here I would have gone about it much much different.
I find it odd that you find it odd that I have no posts. If this platform is to be successful, there will be a need for an audience, followers and people who come here to enjoy the content. 95% of the people who go on YouTube are not creators.
If you look at my comments, they are all thought out and genuine. I put more time and effort in some comments then 80% of posts here. I never ask for a follow or an upvote. Frankly, I don’t really know how all of everything works. I kind of just wing it. I’m just a simple girl that loves sports, gaming, interesting topics and needs an escape from the everyday burdens. I’m not here to get rich, famous or really share any talents. I’m not really talented. But I appreciate others.
I’m sorry if I offended you. I didn’t comment on your post for anything in return. I just felt you posed an interesting topic and wanted to share. I will continue to follow you and enjoy what you have to say. But I won’t comment anymore. I don’t need the blemish of flags.
On a last note. If you notice. I comment maybe 4-9 times a day. Whenever I have time to scour the people I follow. If I had bad intentions, wouldn’t I be more active?
Anyway....I hope you have a great weekend.
: )

The fact that you bothered to respond and defend yourself already speaks mountains.

Let me explain:

I know you're new to the platform (this is why I bothered telling you why I flagged you), but we have a serious problem here. And it's precisely what you're doing: using attractive pictures of women as profile pics in order to attain followers and get away with spammy comments.

Now, that might not be the case with you... but the fact remains that you're using a picture of someone that isn't yours and that's a form of deception. I understand if you've had negative experiences on the web as a female and don't want to post your pic... but as i said, why is it that you can't use a symbol, cartoon, drawing... anything but someone else's photo? Just think of how you would feel if someone used your photo without your knowledge (let alone permission) - especially on a platform on which it's possible to gain a profit? That may not be your intention, but that's the effect that you're having.

We do verification here because we want to discourage this sort of abuse of other people's identities.

And hey, I'm really sorry that stuff happened to you. But yeah, it's a little hard to trust people online, and I do sort of want some form of verification. If you're not comfortable with that, that's cool: I kindly ask that you change the photo or get a photo that you have permission to use (I still don't love the idea if it's someone else's picture, but I suppose it's no big deal if they're okay with it).

As for your comments, I do hope you'll continue to leave them. Be well. I'm going to give you the benefit of the doubt and remove the flag. :)

I appreciate it and totally understand where you are coming from. I see many “spammers” using famous people as profile pics. Lol.
That wasn’t my intention. I assure you. It was kind of confusing to get the pic on in the first place. And I never could figure out the banner thing. Ugh. Lol
I’m actualy out right now and have to work tomorrow. But as soon as I can I’ll put something else as my pic.
I’m serious when I say.....I’m really skeptical and paranoid about people’s ability to “find you”. And there are some wackos out there. This isn’t my bread and butter just an outlet for me. So I can’t see myself using my true self. Unless I can think of a way that I’d feel comfortable. Thank you for being understanding.
I get the need to self police this site. And I’d like to be part of the positive and not the negative. Plus I’d like to stay awhile. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63