You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What becoming a brutal dictator can tell us about living

in #games7 years ago

I love tabletop war games and PC god games, but I know these are not real people, and my actions would be abominable in real life.

Sort:  

Do you think the pretend actions have any affect on real life actions? Or is any other thing taught or learned?

I don't think video games dehumanize others or influence real-life actions for psychologically healthy people. I think they may also serve as a safe outlet for those with unhealthy inclinations. The coding behind game does betray something about the designer, perhaps. But it also demonstrates the inherent fallibility of humans. I can play Sim City and simultaneously enjoy the strategy while questioning the designer's assumption that people need to be managed and led so minutely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58