MTG March Madness: Kaladesh and Aether Revolt

in #games7 years ago

20180311_160446.jpg

The Kaladesh block was an interesting 2-set block of cards focused on fantastic inventions. At the time of writing, this is the oldest set that can be played in the Standard format. It includes vehicles and pirates, two things that have continued to be prominent in the current Ixalan block, so there is room for some interesting multi-set synergy.

I wrote about participation in the Kaladesh and Aether Revolt prereleases fairly early in my Steemit career. The cards are still just plain fun in any format. The art is great, and the new mechanics are a fun change from what had come before.

Kaladesh pack

20180311_162730.jpg

Fun artifacts and instants. Some interesting energy counter shenanigans. Decent utility rare. All told, not bad, even though it's not a high value card jackpot.

Aether Revolt pack

20180311_162451.jpg

A foil rare bonus! Nice! More creatures, too, including an uncommon blue pirate that is legal in Standard for a while still.

What do you think? Comment below!

Sort:  

What I think is that I wish I had the spare cash to go get some packs of Pokemon now after looking at this :D

Also, while I don't know shit about Magic, I just want to say that the artwork they use for their cards is pretty rad.

I never got into any collectible card games other than magic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66