Morrowind installation issue and how I fixed it!

in #games7 years ago (edited)

I want to run old games I still like on my new computer. However, games designed when backwards compatibility with Windows 98 in the early XP era was necessary 15 or 16 years ago have some issues when being installed on Windows 10. What a surprise! [/sarcasm]

Check out the system requirements:

  • Windows 98(!) ME, or XP
  • 128 MB RAM (256 MB recommended, required on XP)
  • 500MHz Pentium III, Celeron, or Athlon processor (800 MHz recommended)
  • 1 GB free hard disk space
  • 32MB Direct3D compatible graphics card with 32-bit color support (NVIDIA GeForce 2 GTS or ATI Radeon 7500 recommended)
  • DirectX 8.1 compatible sound card

Fortunately, Morrowind was easy to fix for Windows 10. The base game seems to install fine, but I have the Game of the Year edition box set with the expansions Tribunal and Blood Moon. The expansions simply would not allow the game to run because files were missing.

My solution:

  1. Insert the Tribunal CD and manually copy the data files folder into the hard drive directory where Morrowind was installed.
  2. Insert the Bloodmoon CD and manually copy the data files folder into the hard drive directory where Morrowind was installed.

Presto! It works! Next, I plan to install the Morrowind Overhaul: Sounds and Graphics mod and see what it does. Hopefully it will make the very dated 3D graphics and meshes more visually appealing. Unfortunately, it will not be able to make use of multi-core processors and may not efficiently use all the features in my graphics card. And it will still be a glitch-riddled Bethesda product, but the game transcends the medium. I recommend buying it on the next Steam Sale because it is still worth it to try the vanilla game.

Sort:  

I have not played that game in forever! Always my fear moving forward is when older games stop working all together. I've not even had a cd player for so long in any of my rigs. If only we could directly buy steam games with our steem!

Very good information, very very sure if this would be very useful. I will try to try it.

w0o0owww that is awesome bro. thanks for this informative post. sure I​ am going to install Morrowind according to your procedure. I hope it will work for me.
thumbs up. and keep sharing the informative posts like that. stay blessed <3

The issue shouldn't be there if you download from Steam. i think this is a CD-version problem only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70