Library D&D Report

in #games6 years ago

Well.

The initial Dungeons and Dragons event I wrote about last week occurred yesterday, and it actually went better than expected. I'd go so far as to say it went too well in some respects, although there were problems.

I had 10 people packed around our table. That's really a bit much for a single party. There were two parents who brought their kids along, a couple older teens, and a gaggle of kids in the 13-16 age range. The chief problem was that several experienced players bailed and I was left with only my own copy of the Player's Handbook (PHB) and another copy brought along by one of the parents. Nonetheless, we persevered in going through the introductory adventure I had prepared, and then dove into character creation.


Image credit

The adventure was easy enough to run, and even with 10 players, it went fairly fast. It took no more than 40 minutes, I'd say. They got to make a choice about the route to take, find a way to cross a river with a washed-out bridge, help negotiate a trade, and then fight off some belligerent barflies. in a seedy tavern. Everyone seemed to have fun despite how stretched thin I felt trying to help everyone.

After getting a list of names and the days people expected to be available, I began planning how to run a game starting next month. We will see how that goes.

Sort:  

Sounds like a great time!

Do you want to aim more for pre-gen stuff, or focus on making your own adventures?

I have a short module I want to run, and then a home librarybrew setting.

Sounds like a party !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82