BUG Zombies, a Budget Deck for Magic: The Gathering

in #games6 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I last posted an EDH/Commander deck list for Magic: The Gathering. I have built this deck for next week's game night with @generikat's family and friends. It would be such a shame if she took advantage of this preview... I may need to rethink my strategy.

As for the deck, it is a sub-$100 budget deck (maybe slightly over, depending on which site I check for prices) that has a zombie tribal theme with graveyard shenanigans. There are two options for the general: Sidisi, Brood Tyrant, or Tasigur, the Golden Fang. Both are perfect for playing graveyard games, and Sidisi doesn't mind being milled.

Sidisi Tasigur

Due to the rules of Commander, it is a 100-card singleton deck using black, blue, and green. These colors are abbreviated as B, U, and G respectively in MTG shorthand. Red and white mana symbols are not allowed anywhere on any cards in the deck at all. As of the Khans of Tarkir block, this color triad has the official name of Sultai, but I still prefer BUG.

I may add more self-mill, although I think I will also need some ways to cycle the graveyard back into my library. I am considering adding Lich's Mastery, depending on how the deck works when I actually play test it, and I have a stack of other cards I have considered that may get swapped in, too. Examples: More green ramp and fog effects, more blue control, or more black killy instants. We'll see.

I did include a lot of zombie token creators. This is a tribal deck. Gotta represent the tribe! I also included cards that filled the graveyard or gained a benefit from a well-stocked discard pile. I added some land ramp from the green cards I have on hand, and the splash of green means the Golgari (BG) and Simic (GU) factions added their own shenanigans for more depth to the strategies available.

Any other Steemit Planeswalkers are welcome to offer input. Just remember, this is a budget deck. No $20 cards. Definitely no $100 cards.

Sort:  

I smiled to see this post. I haven't played Magic on over twenty years i think! Wife and i have discussed starting into it again. I've been caught by several other card games in the past, any other ones you play?

Do Fluxx, Munchkin, and Joking Hazard count?

I quite like the Commander format of the game, but WotC has now released some new starter decks deaigned to get you into standard competitive games out of the box with a decent deck. Or you can still find the not-legal-for-competitive-play Duel Decka boxes sometimes. I wrote some reviews of the last few a while ago.

Do you have a spot that host a group of people to play? I used to go once a week to a shop down the street from me and play vanguard... did for a few months anyway. The town nearby us here has several spots for Magic. I've found it difficult in the past to find people to play games other than the main stream ones. Not that I've tried a whole ton.

Those duel decka boxes are for Magic also? How far back is the review, I'd be glad to give it a read.

The games I play are literally around the kitchen table. Nothing formal.

I don't know how far you would need to scroll to find them. It's been a couple months.

hey bud, do you play on MTGO at all? I haven't been on in a bit but will be playing more once fall time arrives.

I do not play online. Sorry. The only online versions of tabetop hames I play are on Tabletop Simulator on Steam. Secret Hitler is a lot of fun if everyone has voice chat capability.

I like the magic game. .It in the famous game in the world.

What decks do you play?

Cool wish best of of luck on your challenge with @generikat family. I dunno much bout the game. But i can tell it must be really fun. 👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80