Magic: The Gathering - Rivals of Ixalan PRERELEASE PACK (Unboxing)

in #games7 years ago

You Caught Me

I know that this set has already been released. But you know what? I’m still going to show you fine folks what I got in my Prerelease Pack!

Rivals of Ixalan @iamredbar


This is the design of the actual box it came in. I know it isn’t anything special, but I have always appreciated the fine detail that is put into these releases. The boxes are always designed well with a good aesthetic.

Cardboard box @iamredbar


This is obviously the die that came with the pack. I love the symbol of the set and the die is a cool color combination.

One of my weaknesses is cool dice. That one has a cool pattern? I need it. Will it help me win games? No. But why not spend money on frivolous things, right?

Rivals of Ixalan Dice @iamredbar


With Rivals of Ixalan being my first prerelease pack I have purchased, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The promo card that came with the box has a new mechanic, Ascend. It states, “If you control 10 or more permanents, you get the city’s blessing for the rest of the game.” I need to read up on this mechanic and see if anyone has made a deck that utilizes it. But this card is pretty cool overall and not too much mana for an extra card each turn.

Promo Card @iamredbar


These are the booster packs that came inside of the prerelease pack. I will do a detailed breakdown of them at a later time, 90 cards is a lot to break down.

From what I have seen of them already is that the new set added quite a few things that the original Ixalan set needed badly (more dinos and merfolk!!!!)

6 Packs of Cards @iamredbar


That was a quick rundown of what was included in the prerelease box. Nothing too fancy today, but I was excited and figured you guys would like to see as well!


I do have a ton of content that I will be posting soon, I took a few weeks away from writing posts because I was burning myself out. Is there anything you would like to see me write a post about? Let me know!


@iamredbar

Have you used the Ascend mechanic before?
Sort:  

I haven’t played/bought Magic in over 20 years, but I still remember the distinct smell of a new starter deck... I wonder if it’s still the same!

It does have a very distinct smell to it! Nothing better than the first play of a new deck.

Nice pics!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57430.35
ETH 2423.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32