Three bands you can take with you .... all others must be left behind

in #games5 years ago

The other night we were at a barbecue and most of the people there didn't know one another. We talked about this and that and of course we ended up talking about visa problems. Someone briefly brought up politics but i squashed that before it got going (why do people do that?)

The food was pretty rubbish and that was something we didn't talk about but should have because our host has no idea how to cook on a BBQ apparently.

15c43518c7f091ba823c742711016112.jpg
source
seriously dude, what are you doing over there?

The chicken had blood in the middle and the sausages and burgers were so overcooked that they no longer had any taste to them whatsoever. How it is possible to seriously undercook and overcook on the same grill is beyond me.

Anyway: One friend had an interesting game / topic of conversation and it went like this.

You can choose 3 bands/musicians to bring on your desert island:


This can be any individual or group or composer and you will get their entire body of work to bring with you. You will receive no other music. It's an absurd scenario but it does get you thinking and also finding some commonality with strangers. It took me a minute and I may have made some incorrect choices but here were mine.


Metallica

gettyimages531257207.jpg
source

Mainly I choose them for their first 4 albums up to the Black Album, which unlike the masses I don't particularly care for. I wouldn't say I am even terribly familiar with most of their work after the Black Album but there are a few good tracks here and there even in their newer stuff. I find Master of Puppets and Justice for All to be 2 of the most perfect metal albums ever made.

upon receiving my anthology on the island i would immediately destroy St. Anger


Dimmu Borgir

27bc17_4415caf2c3404d6c8ee2e0b9324519fb_mv2.jpg
source

I may have actually made a mistake with this choice and to be honest I was probably probing the audience a bit to see if anyone even knew who they were. This wasn't a "metal crowd" i was dealing with at the party.

However, i find myself returning to 5 or 6 of their songs every time I listen to music, so when someone does that, perhaps it is a good indicator that you really like them. I would probably end up regretting this choice since it is pretty hardcore and that isn't terribly conducive to a "trapped on a desert island" environment. However, perhaps the loudness of the music would be helpful in signalling the rescue boat.


A-Ha

band1.jpg
source

Based on my other choices it might seem a bit strange that A-Ha is also on my list but despite the fact that metal is my music of choice, I also have a "soft side."

I think most people probably only know A-Ha from their hit song in the 80's Take on Me but there is really a lot more to this band than just that one track. They have 15 non-compilation albums and most of them are actually really good.


source
most people only know this one song but they have a hundred more!

The Hunting High and Low album was the one that was their greatest success but unfortunately after they failed to have a follow-up hit, the global music industry kind of left them behind. I remained a fan and so did most of Norway, but for the rest of the world, they haven't had a song crack the top 100 since 1986.

The Norwegians have remained die-hard fans (it might have something to do with the fact that A-Ha is from Norway) as every one of their albums except the last two made it to number 1 in that country.

If you like A-ha at all and wanted to give another album of theirs a shot I would highly suggest their second album which is entitled Scoundrel Days. As a whole their 2nd album is actually better than their hit debut album, but most of the world didn't agree.


istockphoto163188096612x612.jpg
source
hopefully a slightly larger island

Well, that was the game. I was the odd man out in this game as most people were picking musical icons such as the Beatles, Michael Jackson, and Led Zeppelin (which are all good choices) but maybe i'm a bit of a weirdo as far as music is concerned and that is just fine with me.

What are your 3?

keep in mind that it can be a composer like Mozart or an individual singer like Cat Stevens or something. It doesn't have to be a band.

Sort:  

Chicken when it's overcooked on the barbecue actually looks like it has blood on the inside :) Believe me, I have seen it before... So all his stuff was overcooked LOL. Yeah, maybe a few lessons may be in order (preferable by an Australian because they seem to know their barbecues).

A-Ha made me laugh, not because it's such a horrible choice, but because for a moment I thought to mention Rick Ashley LOL. Now THAT would be a horrible choice.

My choices?

  1. Foo Fighters (I'm their biggest fan and Dave Grohl can throw a barbecue, so he's invited to the island)

  2. Twenty One Pilots (because they got my attention as best live band together with the Foo Fighters. And I had never said that before since...well, the Foo Fighters).

  3. Pearl Jam - Just because it is Pearl Jam and Eddie Vedder's voice is something that can keep on playing, even in my dreams...

Three bands I can never get enough of and can listen to at any time of the day without ever getting sick of it.

If there was a fourth to choose, it would be The Red Hot Chili Peppers...just because they bring their happy, joyful tunes and singalong songs. Gotta love the Peppers...

nice follow up. I was on a 21 pilots kick last night because some friend was visiting and had never heard of them. It is good to hear that they are a great live band. I would have never guessed that based on their videos since it at least sounds like they put a lot of electronics into their sound.

That is good to hear about the bloody chicken. I was worried about food poisoning at the time.

Yes, 21 pilots is amazing. They do use electronics a lot, but somehow manage to play in tune. Josh Dunn is an amazing drummer and Tyler Joseph has so many talents it's unreal. His voice is one-of-a-kind and always clear, with or without auto-tune.
The Foo Fighters have been my favorite live-band ever since I first laid eyes on them. I mean, who else breaks their leg and keeps on playing to finish the concert? No one. There is no one more genuine as Dave Grohl, and don't even get me started on his music. I've seen my first Foo concert 22 years ago, and my 7th last August, and they never ever disappointed me. If anything, they get better. Their sets are always 2.5 hours + because they have so much damn good music. But Twenty One Pilots comes as a good second, or maybe even shared first spot. Those two go from two awkward shy boys to a 2-man band that blow your mind once on stage. And these bands are among a few that I can listen to all day long and every day.

OK, enough band flattery :)

Aha were great in the day. My best friend looked like Morten Harkett but unfortunately was 4 inches shorter than the real thing. We used to call him Morten and he scored a lot in the clubs.

Scoundrel Days was OK, I listened to it in the 80's.., some good stuff on it.

Morten has an unusual and unique look for sure. There is no denying that how good-looking he was / is was a big factor in their popularity in the 80's... i guess it just wasn't enough to keep them going.

You didn't list your 3 bands..... :P

OK here goes...

Porcupine Tree, Genesis, Steven Wilson.

You might have heard of the middle one.. likely you have not heard of the others. Few have.

I was just going through my records the other day because I had to throw all the wet jackets away and I noticed that I have an Aha one. I don't remember which one it was now though. I am going to have to go back and take a look. I think picking three bands would be really really hard. Does it only include their work up to that point or if they are still making music would it include future stuff?

I think my three would be: U2, Counting Crows, Neil Diamond

That last one is hard. I might swap it out for some Coltrane or Willie Nelson. Just to keep the variety there...

kind of surprised to see Counting Crows on that list. Did they have a bunch of great albums that no one ever listened to? The Mr Jones album was everywhere back in the 90's... perhaps they are similar to A Ha in that everyone loved them for 1 album and then the industry threw them away.

Hard Candy was probably the other most successful album. Their most recent one was good too. It's more of a fan or personal thing I think. I just really love what Adam Duritz can do with a lyric. Kind of similar to how I am continually impressed by Taylor Swift. If you aren't a super big fan of the albums you should see them live. They put on a fantastic live show. I've seen them probably three or four times now. Their covers of"Aimee" and "Friend of the Devil" are really good too.

I loved 'and justice for all'.. I used to play that tape on my walkman and walk around town for hours doing whatever. Awesome memories! I especially liked "One"

yeah that's a fantastic album. If i go back and listen to the audio on it though it really doesn't sound like it was mixed very well. I wonder why a remaster of that has never been done.

Tool, Motorhead, Black Sabbath

3 fantastic choices. Did you enjoy Sabbath post Ozzy? That was one of the choices by the people at our party the other night. Although i think maybe they were fakers because when pressed to list their favorite songs they said "Ironman" and "War Pigs" and couldn't think of any other songs by the band.

I'm a much ozzy than post ozzy fan,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55