Super Mario Sunshine (game): Universally praised but I didn't like it

in #games6 years ago (edited)

This was only the 2nd 3d Mario game to ever be produced and I was extremely hopeful since Super Mario 64 was such an incredible game. I am aware that that a vast majority of people (and critics) loved this game but I don't know what is wrong with me because I did not like it near as much as they did.

51HF48JVCGL.jpg

The graphics were great, the music was good (for the genre) and all the usual characters were there in a beautiful world. So why you ask, why did i not like it? Well mostly because they introduced new game mechanics with this water backpack and while many people praised the innovation associated with its addition, I wanted to be dealing with the traditional mechanics of Super Mario 64 with improved graphics.

Super-Mario-Sunshine-Screenshots-Mario-Using-Flood-Jet-Pack.jpg

A major part of the gameplay involves using your water backpack in order to glide over certain terrain or to land on distant platforms which sounds like fun but for me anyway it became annoying because you were always dealing with a limited amount of water. Therefore, if you performed the jumps wrong, you would run out and then you would be stuck.

The waterpack was also used as a weapon against certain enemies but again, we are dealing with the limited ammo situation should your unit (Which is a robot named F.L.U.D.D. by the way) run out of water.

peteymouthsquirt-808f7a3d-4001-4e89-b8da-0e7a6525c4ba.png

Now don't get me wrong, this was still an entertaining game and I tend to hold certain titles such as Mario, Zelda, and Metroid to totally different standard than any other game, that is why I tend to be harsher on them if they do something I don't like.

While receiving almost perfect marks by the magazines at the time (magazines.... remember those?) I didn't even finish the game because i found the need-to-return-to-a-water-source-to-refill-your-tank portion of the game too annoying. It's worth playing but i don't think many people have a GameCube anymore. I recently gave mine away to a new home. We'll see if he ends up liking it.

6 / 10

Sort:  

Unpopular opinion: I think Mario Sunshine is better than both Mario Galaxy

I have to agree, most 3d mario games have some kind of gimmick and the galaxy thing where you are upside down half the time just didn't do it for me. Hail Mario Sunshine :)

yeah, that is likely unpopular, but points for you for being original... aside from reddit... but nothing is original on there.

I love all Super Mario games but nothing beats the more traditional ones back in the old days

I have played many games of super mario bross, My favorite is Super Mario 64. I want to play new games but I don´t have new consoles to play. I use an emulator for nintendo games

This was a hard game to finish. I finished Super Mario 64 in two days 10 years ago. To this day, I still haven't been able to beat this game. Might mod my Wii and try this out.

Old is Gold

This is my favourite game.This is very interesting and funny game.I daily play this game in my childhood.This game is so popular in the world.I see your post remember my childhood memoeries.Thanks for sharing.

i love all mario series games old is gold.nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75