NBA Jam (arcade game) - this took the 2nd most money from me

in #games6 years ago

Like most arcade games from the 80's and early 90's, this game looks really bad by today's standards but for the time period (I think it was around 1992,) this was absolutely outstanding. I was an arcade junkie back in the day and i think the existance of arcades are the primary reason that I constantly had a job. NBA Jam was defeated only by Gauntlet in terms of how many quarters i put into it.

nba_jam_arcade__12634.1509163337.jpg
source

So this game is obviously basketball, but it was only a 2-on-2 matchup and the rules were pretty lax in that one of the main things you did in the game in order to play defense or get a steal was to simply knock the other guy over. Your ability to do this seemed to be completely random except in situations where the computer decided to cheat (more on that later.)

5a65f7c500d0ef3d018b45aa.jpg
source

The main thing people liked about this game was the insane dunks which would include things such as jumping higher than the hoop and sometimes doing multiple flips before putting the ball in. It was really wild and again, if there was a way to make this happen intentionally, I don't know anyone that could make it happen.

Every team was playable but there was one very notable thing missing: Michael Jordan. That's right. The most famous b-ball player of all time was not with the Bulls or any other team. This was because he is one of the only NBA players that actually owns the rights to his own likeness - which is strange and something i was unaware that was a thing until i investigated it further.

maxresdefault.jpg
source
sorry for image quality, but digital cameras didn't exist in 1992

Another cool aspect of this game is that if you chose to enter your initials and birth-date into the machine it would keep track of your progress - well, for the most part. The machine I was playing tracked my progress until I had only 2 games left to beat the game and I went back in with a handful of quarters only to find my data was gone, so that sucked.


this video is entirely too long but I encourage you to watch a little bit of it so you can laugh at what got us excited in the early 90's

It's funny that I would think about this because I don't think I have played this game (or even seen it anywhere) for over 20 years but a random conversation at a bar last night got me thinking about it.

Did you have a favorite arcade game? I would love to hear about it if you did.

Sort:  

That game was rad I remember playing it a few times when I was a kid. The NES version was way more comfortable although I sucked at all those original sports games that weren't racing.

Lakers Shaq is virtually unstoppable in NBA JAM..I really liked it during my childhood days, especially if i don't figure out the latest NBA live release

yeah, i remember having him team up with Jason Williams for the Magic, it was hilarious because of their size difference. BTW Shaq was entirely too fast in the game but i suppose noone can jump from half court and do 17 flips and dunk either.

the funny thing man is Shaq can actually hit threes when he's freakin hot...nobody could guard him when he's in the zone..more like a cheat code

i think it was the same with Bo Jackson in Super Techmo Bowl. If i have the name right it was forbidden to have Bo on your team unless you had never played the game before.

I remember when my big brother brought me with him to play these games in the early 90s, he was addicted to that :)

This was my favorite arcarde game back in 1988.

It took me about a week of daily playing to get to the last level.

I used to love side-scrolling shoot-em ups. The ones I try to play these days are generally extremely difficult but i think I played that game in your video.

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

A 3D fighter that featured DOZENS of polygons. Sarcasm aside, it was pretty dope for the early 90s. Virtua Fighter 2 was another Sega joint that dropped back when they were still making hardware.

The insane dunks are more than insane. Crazy high!

My favourite arcade game: Out Run.

One of the best video games ever!
"He's on fire!"

I was never into the sport games, I was more a blowing up aliens kind of bloke.
Phoenix - shooting the wings off giant pink and green birds before zapping the mother ship.
Scramble - horizontal scrolling dropping bombs on the landscape. This was in my local record shop for a couple of years so got a lot of play. I was never any good at it though. Nowadays it would be called 'Drone'.
I was able to win beer playing Tetris at one point. Thus showing my age...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44