Dune II (game) : The first RTS game I ever played

in #games6 years ago

I was almost immediately hooked on RTS games. The balance of battle, building, and resource gathering is just such a wonderful set of skills to simultaneously hone. Dune 2 is technically NOT the first RTS (real time strategy) game ever released, but it is widely believed to have popularized the genre.

d2boxphoto.jpg

The year was 1992 and I was just being introduced to the fact that if a friend had a computer game, we could install it on our computer as well without also buying it. I know this is devious, but i was a little kid and well, there was no internet as of yet (there may actually have been SOME, but it certainly wasn't widespread.)

Anyway, Dune is based on the movies / books and I don't know how accurately it represents the story in the game because I dont' remember the story other than the fact that you have to choose one of the three houses (Atreides, Harkonnen, and Ordos) and attempt to dominate the collection of "Spice" on the planet Arrakis , which is the only planet the drug "spice" exists.

Screenshot-from-the-original-Dune-2-showing-the-players-base-with-several-buildings.png

Of course it doesn't look like much today but that is only because i think we were all using 386 chipsets back then and if you had a GB of data storage you were doing very very well. The main thing was that the game was balanced, and the mechanics functioned perfectly.

dune-2.png

If it hadn't been for this game, future games might never have been developed. I'm referring to Command and Conquer, Warcraft, and of course the king of them all, Starcraft.

This game looks terrible by today's standards but honestly, so does everything else from 1992, including the clothes and hairstyle that I had. This game is legendary to many people, especially me, since it is responsible for spawning my favorite game type of all time.

10 / 10

Sort:  

This game looks terrible by today's standards but honestly, so does everything else from 1992, including the clothes and hairstyle that I had.
Hahahaha. Lol

Spent a lot of time playing this one, back in the day. Great game, and the birth of RTS as we know it.

This is the first, and perhaps only, game that I played that i recall my father taking a real interest in. apparently they have a year 2000 remake. I'll be looking that one up.

Played that one too 😅. Basically the same game except better graphics and controls. Being able to select multiple units is biggest advancement Imo.

Wow! Looks like a cool game sir. I love to play strategy games and I have played so much ... like
Age of empires,
Rise of nations,
Age of mythology,
Command and coquare,
Company of heroes,
Starcraft,
Clash of clans,
Warhammer 40k etc.
I would like to give it a try.

.😄

Posted using Partiko Android

I played the crap out of this one when I got my first pc. It came in one of those cdrom bundles you could get at the time. Definitely set the stage for my love of Warcraft and Starcraft.

absolutely. for some reason Command and Conquer kind of lost me. I think because they made too many of them.

I never could get into command and conquer. I was a Blizzard fan. I spent hundreds of hours in college playing Warcraft II and Starcraft both the single player campaigns and in LAN parties with friends.

I have fond memories of a dozen people all lugging their desktops (and heavy monitors) to rec rooms and church basements and spending way too much time in huge battles.

ah yes, the good ol' days :)

Not really a fan of RTS, or games anymore in general...lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82