Caravan Stories (PS4) : A simply horrible MMO that isn't ported properly

in #games5 years ago

I don't know if this is an early release but there are so many things wrong with this game that it almost appears as though I am unwillingly participating in a Beta.


source

This game is Japanese and was only recently ported to both PS4 and the English language and it shows. The nonsensical dialogue combined with an interface that at times either barely fits on the screen or at times is completely off of it suggest that this PC game wasn't ready for PS4 but frick it! release it anyway!

33747500698_be4e4f784e_o.jpg
source

I was initially attracted to this game because of the anime-style graphics and the fact that it was free-to-play. I know not to expect a great deal of anything that is FTP but this thing appears to not be finished. Simply getting through the character creation screen was a real chore because it is not terribly evident what it is that you are supposed to do to accomplish getting out of that part of the game. It really looks like it was originally designed to be done using a mouse and the developers decided to not really change that but instead just have us annoyingly bumble through the entire menu by using the d-pad rather than changing the layout in any way to accommodate consoles.

17113006573777.jpg
source

Since I am a patient person that doesn't really expect much of really anything that is free I was willing to deal with this and then the story begins, which involves entirely too much reading and normally saw me exit the game early. I managed to carry on for another hour but then another irritating aspect of the game kicked in.

Every encounter begins with an excessively long "Loading" screen that takes over all control and this to me, is unacceptable. It was only maybe 5 seconds but is this really necessary in order to load some cute bunny that I have to murder?

The art style and the fact that it was a turn-based RPG of sorts drew me in to check it out, but the unfinished (at least I hope it is unfinished) interface and crazy loading times for a game that can't really justify such frequent load times based on the fairly basic graphics turned me away after about an hour. I can't really recommend this game to anyone and therefore this MMO that most English-speakers would have avoided anyway gets the overall rating of....

12907__73468_std.jpg

Sort:  

I have a hard time playing games that have anime style graphics. Not that I hate anime, Robotech was one of my favorites back in the day, but I just don't like that style when I am trying to play a game. It is distracting to me and makes it hard to focus. That stinks that this one turned out to be such a dumpster fire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79