Gwent vs. Hearthstone - my opinion

in #games7 years ago (edited)

Hearthstone was my first card game. I was in love with the game. I've played Hearthstone for 2 and a half years now, and I have had always great time. Then Gwent came out.. I will point out 3 main things why I think Gwent's mechanics are better than Hearthstone's. Probably it will never reach the popularity of the competitor, but for me Gwent is the better game..

  1. RNG: RNG is ruining Hearthstone in my opinion. It has grow so much in the last year. I hate to see a game that I am in control slip away with a card that randomly generate a minion or spell that actualy reverts the fate of the game. It is funny to watch of course, but it is not talent or brain winning. I remember watching Hearthstone World championship 2016, when Pavel was facing Amnesiacs, that match is the ideal example of how a lost game/match can turn around. I am not saying that Gwent is completely free of RNG, it is a card game after all, but the difference is huge. Every win in Gwent just gives you that feeling that you've won with skills.

  2. PACE: In Hearthstone fast decks will always rule. How many people do you think in Hearthstone just take a zoo deck for faster laddering? Well, a lot - been there done that.. As a result, no matter where you are on the ladder, you’ll be playing against fast decks the vast majority of the time, which never make it past the early game (either you lose quickly or they run out of steam and forfeit). The worst part is that fast decks usually require no more than 5 neuron cells to play properly, which is especially frustrating for players like me who appreciate the game for its cerebral challenge. Gwent solves this by its game mechanics; you cannot blitz a win. The best-of-3 mechanic allows you to think for a strategy how to defeat your opponent. Very few wins in Gwent come down to a better draw; proper deck building will give you access to all of the tools in your deck over the course of 3 rounds, so each win against another player feels rewarding and demands forethought and careful play.

  3. CARD LIMITS: The limits on gold and silver cards in Gwent help encourage decks to be focused, which I like. If you are smart enough, you can compete with the best after just a month of game playing. You can easily beat a guy with per say »30 legendaries« against yours only, because the game limits you to use only 5. (i am using the term legendaries for better understanding). In Gwent, there is never a deck that feels incredibly far away of you because there's only a certain number of expensive cards that can go into it. New players can build successful decks without investing a ton into Gwent, and that is great.

Just like I said, I see Gwent as a card game that stimulates you the more. It gives you the feeling you can beat anyone anytime, as long as you can »see it«. I encourage you guys to try the game, I am sure it will give you back tons of satisfaction!

maxresdefault.jpg

Byeee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48