The Game

in #games7 years ago (edited)


Today was a game night, and since we had earlier talked about trying to stream our games on Dlive I decided to take the laptop with me. I ended up breaking the laptop so I shot a part of one game with my smartphone camera.

I'm playing black in this game. @MarkkuJantunen plays white. Markku is also simultaneously playing against Jussi, a novice player in our club on a 13x13 board which is just barely visible on this video.

(Dtube had some problems with this mp4 so after 5 failed tries to upload, I converted the file into webm, and it seems to be uploading fine now. I just hope it will be visible when it gets uploaded.)

If I ever get the streaming thing working, I think we'll need to play against clock.

The language you will hear in this video is Finnish.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

[Previous post: One photo every day: I almost upvoted your comment... (290/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

You called it go but am not know what it's name in india

Go. Pronounced "goh".

Go is known internationally as Go.

Its Chinese name is weiqi and its Korean name is baduk.

Today there were no losers, friendship won :d

Go is technically a zero-sum game but because the playing itself is fun, it is a net positive for both.

With a couple of beers, I guess it's positive enough.

After 20 beers it gets interesting. I've won the Bonus tournament twice when I was a student. The first time around, there was six-hour time limit during which a round robin lightning tournament of 12 players was played with full handicaps (each player played 11 games). One point for one game won, one point for one 0.33 l bottle of beer (4.5% alc. vol) consumed. I won having lost two games and drinking 15 beers. The second time around, there was an eight-hour time limit. Again, I lost two games out of thirteen games and had 20 beers. That was 20 years ago. Stronger players have better grasp of the fundamentals which is why alcohol messes with their go to a lesser degree than weaker players.

At a go congress in Czech Republic, an international Bonus tournament was arranged. It was won by a Russian alcoholic whose wife was tasked with bringing him beer and vodka from the bar so that he wouldn't have to get up. By that time, I had long since lost interest in that much drinking.

Nah, I don't really support all this drinking stuff.
You tell about it like all Go players are alcoholics heh. I'd rather erase that from my head and leave a serene and holy image of Go player like it was before.

Some go players are alcoholics, just as there are alcoholics among all groups of people. I already mentioned in the above that I had lost interest in that kind of drinking a long time ago.

And the winner is!? I was rooting for both of you anyways. It doesn't matter who won.

Markku won the game.

No way! You are much stronger in skill! (Don't tell him I said it).
You should've easily crushed him!)

Cool I love game night I have a lot of time that I don't enjoy one of those, of course they were video games night but damn @MarkkuJantunen two simultaneously games, you are pretty hard core don't you. See you guys later and I hope you have fun.

The game seems interesting, @markkujantunen is not as bad as it seems. Jaro it would be good to dedicate a post to the instructions of the game, be happy to learn.

That was a nine stone handicap. There were nine black stones on the board in the beginning to give black an equal chance of winning the game despite the difference in skill. White is always behind at the beginning in handicap games. If the handicap is correct for two players, then each will win about half the time. In this particular game, white won. @gamer00's European go rank is 7 kyu and mine is 3 dan, which means nine stones should be the right handicap for us. I haven't kept tally of the results but I have a feeling that it is.

In practice there is excellence, surely in a more time the game is not the same as the difference between black and white. Good luck to both.

Only if all this made sense to me... 😭😭😭 I don't know the name of the game. In my country, we only have chess, and checkers-those are the two board games similar to this one in looks anyway. I don't know how it's played. What's it name??

Originally it's called "Weiqi" (in China), but because it spread to the west via Japan, its Japanese name "Go" stuck, and it's generally called "Go", or "the game of go".

Since the original name translates to "encircling game", I named our Go-club "Saarto", which basically means "surrounding". We call it "go" in Finland, but "saarto" could actually work too. ;)

In Korea, they call it "Baduk", and in Thailand "mak-lom". Apart from Korean (the etymology of which is unknown) they all mean pretty much the same, surrounding or encircling.

The idea of the game is to surround free space (and occasionally opponent's stones) from the board by placing stones on the adjunctions of the lines on the board. The surrounded adjunctions and stones will be counted as points when the game is finished.

Anyway, it's really a very easy game to learn, with only 3 basic rules:

  1. Black and white place stones alternating turns. (Black plays first move.)
  2. A stone has 4 liberties (up-right-down-left), and when those liberties are gone, the stone gets captured. If a group of stones gets surrounded, it dies unless it has two separate liberties (eyes) inside the group.
  3. The same situation must not happen twice in a row (to prevent the game going into a loop), if this is about to happen, the player must play elsewhere. (a.k.a. the "Ko-rule")

Wow! Thanks for the explanation

Understanding that game has gotta be something, i like more tactical table game like Jenga, heard about it? Its pretty nice. I guess converting to webm first really solves dtube upload issues, youre like the second person confirming it, thanks though

The game looks like a peaceful game, though am still trying to understand it.

Just opened the video and can't understand anything. I was hoping maybe I would. I visited Helsinki couple of years back and talked some with the locals.
I guess I had too much hope in my non existent Finnish repertoire.
Well atleast I can watch the game :-)

Wow...such a wonderful and interesting game....but...I cant understand how can do that game...hahaha...
Wel done and perfect work @gamer00 sir...
Cheers~~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67878.14
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64