What to do when markets give you lemons

in #games7 years ago

aperture-portal-.jpg

What to do, when life gives you lemons, markets are red all around, our post rewards continue dropping and there's nothing to cheer to?

That's right, you find something to cheer to. As some of you might have guessed, this is a PC-game-related post, but not the one in the title (title image is a meme created from the Aperture Labs game Portal 2).

Instead i'll be talking from a different game. Recently i don't have the time play too much games, but enter one of my favourites. Brothers - A Tale of Two Sons.

brothers.JPG

The ratings on this one are, as you can see, "Overwhelmingly Positive". I held back on buying this one for too long, but reading the reviews made my appetite for this game grow more and more. "I cried", "11/10", "Hands up all-time favourite" are just a few examples from the reviews.

The story itself follows two brothers, on a journey to the Tree of life, to save their father, who has fallen ill. On the journey, they can only rely on each other. Where one is weak, the other is strong; where one cannot reach, the other can. Solve puzzles and pass obstacles working together and helping each other out. Beat he local bully, fly with a phoenix and venture in the land of giants.

The game features many side-actions that you can do and it creates a kind of an immersion around you. Interact with people around you, be a bully yourself and be sure to try various actions with both characters as they react differently. Will you save a man, who has lost his will to live or just pass on by? This and many other side-actions will make this a trip to remmber.

bully.PNG

Now here comes the twist. The game is categorized as "single-player co-op". A what? Yes, the game is originally intended to play alone. Whether on a keyboard or a gamepad, you control both of the brothers. The key mappings are simple - movement and action keys.

puzzle.PNG

You'll get the hang of it quite quick. The first time, i finished the game alone and on keyboard but it left me with a lasting impression. The story is so atmosphere-rich and immersive, i invited others to play. You can play it together on a keyboard, or one of you can use a controller and the other can rock a keyboard. And I can assure you, the game is as fine with multiple players as solo. For the first-time player though, i recommend solo-play, so you can experience everything the developers have intended for you.

shot from steam.JPG
Img from Steam

The Steam website for the game has a warning, that this game requires a controllerto play, but that is not true. If you don't have a controller, there is a tiny bug, that appears only 2x in the entire game and to be honest, it's really minor. The bug itself is about rotating a crank with rotating the joystick, which you canot do on a keyboard, hence getting through the crank sequence takes about 30-45 seconds more or so. I personally found rotating the crank on the gamepad annoying as hell so - no real difference.

The game costs €14.99, but feel free to add the game to your wishlist right now, as they have specials multiple times a year, with price down to even $1 or $2, and for that price, it's a steal.

shot from steam 2.JPG
Img from Steam

Find the game here on Steam



Check out Chainbb, an alternative frontend for STEEM network. If you like forum style, that's the platform for you.


separator.png


unknown2.png
Are you looking for Minnowbooster, Buildteam or Steemvoter support? Or are you looking to grow on Steemit or just chat? Check out Minnowbooster Discord Chat via the link below.




BuildTeam

Sort:  

I think this is only game I would play all over again.

I'm shocked. I just found this on my ''Not Interested'' list.
When did I do that? Fixed the mistake and put it straight in my Wishlist.
Must've happened when going through my Queue for trading cards during some sale.

I've never understood the trading cards... have been selling all mine for cents.

Yeah, they're just to level up on Steam.
It's useless unless you want to decorate your profile and add more people as friends than the original limit states.

Sounds like a must have to me. Real cool game graphics

Have got this one again. Actually looking for a game as this with story line thats adventurous. The last one I played in PS2 was eragon and Lord of the ring. Which i know was so so captivating that i had to play some interesting stages after i finished the game. Am way going for this game because it got my taste especially with their differences in abilities which make it much more of a co-op game and my bros are fan of such games,but I guess I have to wait for a drop in the price to buy but rather keep on my bookmark as you advised. Thanks @furious-one for this anticipated game upfront and i will sure give you and my fellow steemians how I enjoyed it ☺

One of my favorite game that i played. The game was realistic and original and told a very nice story. I thought the puzzles were relatively well integrated if quite easy and… despite being totally linear, the game often made you feel like you had a decision you can make. The world felt open. You need to try this game my fellow steemians you gonna enjoy this game.

I would have appreciated dialogue… I think it would have strengthened the connection with the characters and the relationship between the brothers. The brothers really only interacted on a couple of puzzles and… it would have been nice to see them…

Thank you for your reply, but i hope you edit your reply to remove the last sentence... let's not spoil it for others.

Nice piece there. Keep it coming.

curious post one ......
thanks @furious-one......
sorry for not upvote

Man, this isn't even a haiku.
What were you trying to do there?

Very impressive.
I am resteeming your post.

Dear @furious-one,
I mentioned you in my last article about "TOP 5 trending Gaming accounts you should follow today" for creating the best content out there about Gaming! Guess who is the winner ;)
Feel free to read about yourself:
https://steemit.com/gaming/@bestmemes/top-5-trending-gaming-accounts-you-should-follow-today

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91