Dreams To Reality - does anyone remember this game?

in #games6 years ago

Dreams To Reality - does anyone remember this game?

dtr.png

Dreams To Reality is a TPP game created by french studio Cryo Interactive in 1997. I remember playing this game as a kid and it made huge impact on me. I have installed this game fev days ago (it works on Windows 10!) and with few random crashes and over-stretched view I have started my journey through memmories. Gameplay is very similar to first Tomb Raider. Plot is super shallow and naive. We play as Duncan - a guy, who once jumped out of the portal to the dream world opened by sinister scientist. After few years, he is getting back as a ripped muay thai boxer to the world of dreams to save it from bad doctor. As you can see, plot is very tendentious. Gameplay is terrible - no feel of character at all. I have sensation, that even length of steps is random. Fight is even worse. Graphics is not bad as for 1997.

What do I rely like about this game?

First of all is flying. This concept is super cool. You can simply start flying in most of the locations (you need mana to do that) just like in lucid dream - just spread arms and fly! That gives you nice sensation of freedom.
Another thing is concept of the world. It is very surreal, mostly made of isles archipelago hanging in the sky. Between isles you will find wales flying and spreading mana as bubbles produced by their movement. I like the mixture of styles- some of the scenes are inspired by Arabic architecture, some more by tribal art of Africa or Polynesia. Music is another interesting thing about this game, very well composed.

Gameplay:

Overall

Even though the gameplay is terrible, this game made huge impact on me. I have realized how fascinating dreams are. Right after playing this game I started to study issues like lucid dreaming, out of body experience, meditation and those topics are still one of my biggest interests. Conclusion is, that even bad game can inspire you for the whole life! Do you remember this game, and what were your impressions about it? Please give me some comments! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93