DID YOU KNOW YOU CAN BUY GAMES/ITEMS ON STEAM WITH STEEM?

in #games7 years ago (edited)

I was digging deep and looking everywhere and there are actually not that many gaming platforms and gaming websites where you can pay with cryptocurrency. Not even those big websites such as GOG, Humble Bundle or Origin.

I wanted to buy Little Inferno from the official website to support those developers as much as possible. But there is a catch, they dont offer payment with cryptocurrency. I dont like to pay with credit card or Paypal.

I went to Steam later and it was actually possible here to pay with Bitcoin. So to pay with Steem for games you just have to exchange them to Bitcoin first.

I still find this amazing that some huge companies are offering payments in cryptocurrency and are not afraid of them!

Steam didn't disappoint!

So if you do have liquid steem or steem dollars and you want to play some games - you can!

You just have to transfer them to an exchange such as Bitrex or Poloniex and exchange them here for Bitcoin.

Or you can use Shapeshift - more about it in the comments!

Then you withdraw those Bitcoins to your wallet.



I was really unsure if it is gonna work so I put cheaper game here to see if my Bitcoin will not be lost forever.

The payment is done by Bitpay.

After you click continue to BitPay this screen pop-up...

I am using Jaxx as my computer wallet. You pay for your stuff by sending a transaction with address and amount they give you.

Bitcoin does not have Lighting network so the confirmations are kind of slow, but I got 6 confirmation in less than 10 minutes.



And after those confirmations...

Thats it!



Thanks!
Follow me for more @eirik


steebmb.jpg

Sort:  

Yes I knew :P
You can also find some offers and buy steam games for btc on this one https://www.hrkgame.com
I have tried both.

This just gave me another reason to use steemit!

Steemit is very powerful platform!

Thanks for passing by. :)

I think you could skip having to sign up for the exchange and use Shapeshift to directly convert. I put instructions here for OpenBazaar https://steemit.com/tutorial/@cryplectibles/tutorial-with-images-how-to-buy-with-steem-on-openbazaar and the same tool of using Shapeshift would apply to any site that only accepts Bitcoin.

Thank you very much cryplectibles! I did not know that we can shapeshift steem!

That is amazing!

I was actually looking into this a few days ago aswell. It's awesome that Steam offers this option :-)

Great post! Didn't know you can buy with bitcoins on steam

Another big company accepting Bitcoin is Microsoft. I know you can buy off their store with Bitcoin, I think Windows Store too.

Thank you triverse, you are right!

This is pretty epic, digital coins for digital games =)

@eirik cash me outside howbout dah? I've been using crypto on steam for a while http://steamcommunity.com/id/BrilliantBlackDude/

:) I can't do that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82