Backlogjammin #1: Ghoulboy - Dark Sword of Goblin

in #games6 years ago

Perhaps the biggest problem being a game collector is not having enough time to play all the games I add to my collection. Maybe I get handed a box of dusty old games a friend found in their basement or I buy a handful of games from a newly found retro store when I really should have only bought one. Thankfully, writing about games has given me a legit, almost guilt-free, reason to make time to play video games. Backlogjammin will be a Steemit exclusive series based on my lonely backlog of games to be played.

ghoulboy.jpg

Damn you Steam and your stupid clickbait “An item on your wishlist is on sale!” emails. Sure, I am partly to blame for setting up a wishlist in the first place but that list was meant to be a list of games that I think would be fun to play but really had no intention to ever play. I admit it, I am a console elitist and only log into Steam to play Point and Click Adventure games and to mock my friends who are inexplicably addicted to Rocket League. But this holiday season, Steam decided to cut the price of its Steam Link device to $4.99 and I couldn’t pass up the chance to taste some forbidden PC gaming fruit on my big screen TV.

Ghoulboy is an action platformer developed by Serkan Bakar. I added the game to my wishlist as it reminded me of my all time favorite platformer, Ghouls N’ Ghosts for the Sega Genesis. Ghoulboy’s dad has been taken prisoner by the evil goblin king and he must rescue him from a lightless dungeon. The story is thin and suffers from a bit of Engrish so I created my own story in which Ghoulboy is actually Sir Arthur as a lad dreaming about the adventures he will have when he becomes a real knight in the future.

Gameplay is fun and varied as you must solve puzzles and upgrade your weapon to progress in each level. The game is a bit short with only 4 bosses but it works well with a gamepad and looks great on a big screen.

http://store.steampowered.com/app/752500/Ghoulboy__Dark_Sword_of_Goblin/

Sort:  

I'm the same way with GOG.com. My library has over a hundred titles in it, just because they were on sale or something. :)

GOG.com is a great site for finding old PC games. I snagged Interstate 76. I would love to see an HD remake of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17