You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My failure as an android game developer + a couple of tips for newbie devs

in #gamedev7 years ago (edited)

Thank you @urban07 for sharing your game development experience!

I really appreciate that you didn't sugarcoat the matter - game development is far from a cake walk. I equally appreciate that you didn't discourage from trying. Its an uphill struggle but its not impossible.

Looking at the game, I personally feel that you might have benefited from thinking about 'why' players would want to play your game specifically.

By answering this you might have been able to make a minor change that would have made it much more popular.

Example: Is there a reason why the player is catching this rain? Maybe its a matter of survival or maybe you run a special soda pop factory where sky-fall-pure rain water is a necessary ingredient.

Or maybe it not about rain at all - maybe you are a little angel or fairy catching tears of sorrow while letting pass on tears of anger.

It adds a layer of meaning and emotional investment.

Well... I am a non-start game designer myself so this is just an unqualified opinion on the matter. I do hope your next effort goes much better. ^_^

Sort:  

@pathforger
Wow, thanks for your comment :)

I know there is no story to this game - and it was supposed to be like this. It was supposed to be pointless, but now that I look at it, I guess you're right - a game needs a story. As I said, I was inspired by simple games, like Flappy Bird but now I see that using other games' ideas is not always good and may not work as it's supposed to.

I hope I'll find some time to make a new game soon - or finish one of those I started creating. That's my problem, I keep starting new projects but hardly ever finish them :D

A pleasure @urban07. :c)

Some simple games capture the imagination. I would definitely recommend looking up Extra Credits on youtube. They offer many bite-sized chunks specifically relating to game design. And its good food for the soul too. ;c)

Me? I tend to be into complex games but even complex games benefit from a degree of simplification.

I am sure that you will find a way. You could even use your current game as a platform for modification - Think of it as project 1.1. Give it a totally different theme - one different mechanic. And see if you find it fun to try out. :cP

Of course feel free to move on to new horizons also.

Good luck!

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41