My Bigger Button - Protect the nuclear launch button from social media frenzy!

in #gamedev6 years ago (edited)

banner.png
This is my entry for the first edition of #steemitjam, the theme was "Protect it"
Selection_198.png

The nuclear button is in your hands, will you be able to defend it in time?

Your job is to protect the nuclear launch button from the world leaders. Their messages on Switter may result in a leader getting heated up and deciding to end the world once and for all. You can protect the button by activating an electric barrier. However, you do not have a lot of battery, it is best to only use it in the moments of highest tension!

Selection_199.png

Failure will not be tolerated!

The world depends on you...
Selection_200.png

Download instructions

Download (Windows, Linux, Mac)
The game is a .jar file, you need the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) to run it.

Source code

The source code can be found here.

Software used

IDE : IntelliJ
Programming Language : Java with the LibGDX framework
GUI Skin Editor for LibGDX : Skin Composer
Sound Editing : Audacity
Sprite Editing : Aseprite and GIMP

Experience

This was my first time doing an "art heavy" game. In game jams, I always ignored art completely, but this time it was my main focus. I'm a programmer, not an artist, so the graphics don't look great, but they look much better than any other of my game jam entries. I slept a lot, did not rush things. The game jam went very smoothly, because my first working prototype was done after just a few hours. I could have submitted it yesterday, but I spent a few hours today polishing my entry.

Timelapse

I recorded everything and I'm editing a timelapse, I will post it tomorrow! Make sure you follow me! :)

Sort:  

First time he slapped the button was really stressful!

Nice entry :)

That's the effect I wanted to give! :)

the graphics are great because everything fits. they complement the story and theme. i love how you're incorporating recent events too. this is good stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67