Asset Stores: Cheating or Beneficial?

in #gamedev6 years ago

Hey all!


I'm messing around in Unity and took notice on how much better some asset store downloads would make my game. I could get flowing grass, ominous clouds, or some smaller things like sound effects and fonts. From my experience in Unreal Engine, I know that there is a marketplace where users can upload their own assets for others to buy and download. SO, the question is: Do you consider asset stores CHEAP or BENEFICIAL? Let me know with a reply. Thanks :D

Go Indies!

-Kyle
Sort:  

Hello fellow gamedev!
It could be both. It depends on how you use them.
I've seen studios that take stuff from the asset store, modify them, and come with a completely different game.
If you simply download and slap it into your game, then we all know it's worthless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47