Today I Applied to be a Game Designer for Next Semester - Wish Me Luck! 😄

in #gamedesign6 years ago

In my studies I have the opportunity to participate a whole semester in a game development project. I have applied to a few different positions prioritized in this order: Game Designer, Project Manager, Level Designer, QA Manager.

Being a Game Designer is a dream of mine, and it have been for years. What I have done to further this dream have been volunteer efforts. I have participated in video game jams. A game jam is a sort of a game creation marathon, where you oftentimes don't get too much sleep for 48 hours and create a new game in that time. Then there's awards such as best visuals, best multiplayer experience and of course best game. Two years ago I did game design on a board game together with a group of designers and developers. We ended up winning the jury's award as well as the player's award for best board game!

Now though, it's about to get much more real. I have been waiting to apply for this project for years, and now finally I can as part of my master's. Honestly, this course if you will is one of the main reasons I took this master's degree, so if I don't get accepted, I have no clue what I will be doing. All eggs in one basket and all.

During the project we will be working full time for half a year creating two small games and a larger one as a final semester project. If all goes well, I will be doing game design on these games. And if not, hopefully I can get to do project management. It might sound strange, but I know professional game designers who started as project managers on this course, so I know it's a valuable alternative.

I've only heard good things from this project. I hear it's very practical and intense. People cry, get pissed off and learn a lot!

I will know whether I got accepted or not sometime in May or perhaps just before, so I am filled with anticipation right now. Wish me luck dear Steemit!

Sort:  

I hope you succeed in making a new game

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82