The start of my game development hobby

in #game7 years ago


Well, as I step into the realm of game developing I know a few things.

I've got a vision of what I want to create.

I've got direction from a family member who has a succesful career as a game developer.

I've got a laptop.

I haven't been working on computer programs in more than a decade.

I've got everything to gain, from my new project!

Sort:  

Looking forward to your first forray into application and game developing.

Yes, the padawan will become the master. One day! Master wizard...hahaha!

Awesome! It's always exciting to see people diving into the realm of Game Development. If you haven't followed @TheCastle, you should. He's another game dev here on Steemit, who's working on a game of his own after working for a studio for years.

I'll defintely have a look at his feed, and see how I might size up to his abilities. The idea came to me through a friend this weekend, so I'm going to follow it and see where it leads me.

Looking forward to seeing where it goes!

Word of advice from someone who's done a project at one point in time: Plan out what you have in mind, and build a minimal version of it for starters. build on it until you're satisfied. But make sure you have a solid skeleton to flesh out the meaty goodness of the game.

sound advice to avoid flakiness, and to prevent divergence. Keep the vision strong!

A lot of business people call this Minimum Viable Product. What's the bare minimum you can build and call it your product? How long will it take to make that?

If you can get that part figured out, the rest is easy peasy.

small digestible bits, to create the bigger picture. It's the way I shape my life to fit my desires. And help me reach my ultimate goals and dreams. This in itself is a building block to bigger things.

exposing people to a visual representation of what I would like to see accomplished in the world around me. creating technologies I wish to see, but do not fully comprehend.

The most important is the vision of what to create!
I wanted always to create a game myself, but in fact I found myself only learning the tools ( Unity, Python, C++, Blender etc. ) but never really creating an actual game...

good luck with it!

I'll help you test your new game!

dream job! video game tester!

Ha ha ha ha ha - have fun with that LOLZ
I've jumped in and out of programming a few times - you'll catch on in no time

such maniacal laughter! I'll do my best

I wish you the best and hoping you reap maximal benefits from your games ...

that's my hope as well! Thank you

Good for you. Hope you have fun

When I'm working towards my dreams, I'm always having fun!

Looking forward to this - gamedev is challenging - good luck!

Always have been one for a challenge. Don't always like doing things the easy way. But like you said. Not much that's easy to game dev.

I was not aware of this "Unity Game Dev course" looks interesting. I recall a few years back trying out some unity "tutorials' lets just say it don't go well lol. They also had just then made a major changes so things where rather outdated and not working as they use to lol.

This is my first kick at the cat. (no pun intended) So, I'll see how this goes. Got a fresh new idea for a more simplistic game to test out some boundaries before i undergo my major work project. I'll see what comes of it! The course itself is included in the purchase of the program. So, I'll study it as best as I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85