FALLOUT 4

in #game7 years ago

fo4.jpg

As I mentioned in some of my other posts, I grew up during the heyday of video arcades. I can remember Pong consoles when they were a new thing. I saved my money from cutting grass to buy my very own Atari 2600. I have played a little of everything from the very biggest MMO's to RTS and even a few FPS games. The current game that I keep going back to is Fallout 4.

I am sure that this game needs no introduction to the gaming community but for those who may not play it or play games at all I will provide a wiki link below for those it may interest.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fallout_4

fo42.jpg

For those seeking a quick Cliff's Note type of explanation, you begin the game as a player emerging from an underground shelter 200 years after nuclear war has devastated the planet. This was possible thanks to a cryo-stasis chamber. Everything about this game is about choices and these choices, small sometimes they are have a huge impact on the overall game. While I would not call it a sandbox game, it can be made that way through the use of Game Mods. These mods are what gives games like Fallout 4 and Skyrim such a long lifespan since you can essentially make the game into whatever you want it to be. If you are intrepid enough to dabble in modding yourself, Bethesda even provides what they call a Creation Kit where just about anything in the game can be modded. This is what increases a games replayability. It is no fun once you have beaten a game simply to replay that scenario over and over. So change it up!

fo44.png

I have been thinking of what my next play through will be for a while. I have decided that I just want one, maybe two settlements at the most. One of these I will spend a lot of time building as my primary settlement. This settlement I want to make into a completely functional farming community with individual housing and stores. Yes, I know that's been done before but not by me. In the past I have just built communal type settlements. One big building with everything that has to be sheltered in it. The garden plot is usually placed very near the big building so that the defensive turrets atop the building can protect the crops and the settlers. It is just easier to build settlements like this to stay under construction build limits.

In this play through I am not concerned with build limits. I will mod those to suit what I want to build. I plan to remain peaceful with all the factions, not committing to actually finish the game through any of them. That being said, I do want access to all the factions, so I will side with the Minutemen just far enough to gain entrance to the Institute. To do that, you have to put up with the guy below:

fo43.png

That guy would be Preston Garvey, THE single most annoying NPC in the game. You can't get anywhere near this guy because he is always wanting to send you to rescue some forlorn settlement. The best in game way I have found to deal with him is to get him to give you two settlement quests, complete them but don't turn them back in to him because he just sends you on more. I plan to build him a house and a cot in Sanctuary and just abandon him.

I do not plan to set up a radio beacon in my prize settlement. Through the use of a mod called ABDUCTION, I will abduct NPC's that are friendly to the player from all over the Commonwealth. Once you have abducted them to your settlement, you can equip them in whatever armor and weapons you like. Once you do this you can release them and they will work on your settlement just like any other settler. You have to do it in that order though because once you release them, you can't trade with them again. The benefits to this is you end up with a town full of named NPC's with the richest built in dialog in the game. Imagine Doctor Amari running your clinic, Scribe Haylen and some of the Brotherhood of Steel manning your watch posts if you will. Abducting hostile NPC's does not work however. They always end up turning on the good guys or even themselves. I will post a follow up with screenshots once I get established in this play through.

I will leave you with a screenshot of my dead/reborn as a synth wife Nora from a past play through.

ScreenShot24.png

Wishing you the very best.

Follow @olmech

Sort:  

I really liked Fallout 4. I made the mistake of messing with the builder at my base before completing more missions. I found myself just building stuff instead of trying to complete the game lol

Thats what I am doing now. I am just modding the game to become a sandbox RPG basically.

Currently still playing it, keep building new characters and leveling with different skills!

I am about to play Fallout 4. I was huge fan of Fallout 1, 2 and 3, and have played them for countless hours. I think i have found my passion topic already. I can't help but to feel nostalgia. It has been almost 20 years since first bitchizen Lynette expelled me from Vault City. Would you guys enjoy reading some retro topics? If so, i'm ready to revive some memories.

Sure, Ill read them.

OK. This has piqued my interest. I have never played the previous ones. Is the story continous or can i just get into it.

You can just jump into it. Thats what I did. I never played the others.

Oh. I guess i'll just do the same then

I am a huge Fallout Fan and Fallout 4 was great and I don't understand why people hated it

less rpg like more action focused. the game is dumbed down.

I respect your opinion but I disagree with you I think it was very rpg like and the action was good.

I personally like the progression. Its not that bad since I don't play multiple builds but I did notice that the game was very dumb down and more action rpg instead of straight rpg. you kill hundreds of dudes like nothing. I think it becomes especially noticeable if you do all of the side quests and try to take your time with the game. the game was just really easy compared to 3 and New Vegas

no doubt the gun play is better so yes the action is good but the way it affects the game I think is in a negative way. VATS is less useful than in previous titles.

Once I beat the game with all the factions, I got into modding it and thusly creating my own RPG out of it. Thats where my true enjoyment of the game lies. Think I am running about 110 mods on it now.

haha thats cool you play on pc?

ok cool. makes it easier to use mods.

Yeah, I have heard that. I dont play on console at all. Built my first PC in 1999 and never looked back. I have considered getting a console but I dont have time to play the stuff I have now.

haha yeah to many games so little time

There's another settlement that need your help, general.

Fallout 4 is awesome game.Nice post.

Fallout 4 is awesome, especially caits companion mission.

Yes, hers is great. Perhaps the most heart rending is Paladin Danse though.

It seriously is. And he carries through it with all the poise and stoicism you'd expect from a model soldier.

This post is totally Awesome!

The game is too. I just dont have time to play it much.

Thanks sashin!

"General, another settlement needs our help."
"So why don't you go help them Preston? I swear, it's like you made me your superior so you wouldn't have to keep going out."

I absolutely love Fallout 4, and I found the game extremely compelling as a father of a young daughter. I really connected with the protagonist. And, in spite of Preston's incessant chatter, I preferred siding with the Minutemen the most. I'm starting a second male character playthrough siding with the BoS, and then I plan to do a female playthrough where she completes the main game and goes to Nuka-World to become Queen of the Bandits. Upvoted and followed, @olmech. Look forward to more!

I loved the Brotherhood of Steel...right up to where I had to destroy the Railroad. I felt so dirty after that. It really bothered me if you can believe that.

I know just how you feel. My initial playthrough I sided with the Railroad, and frankly, after playing through some of the Brotherhood of Steel questline quests, I couldn't fathom how one would side with them. Unlike FO3, they're basically tyrannical mercenaries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42