RIP Club Penguin (October 24, 2005 - March 29, 2017)

in #game7 years ago

Another part of my childhood has left me once more. The virtual world of Club Penguin on Desktop and Mobile is now over, due to Disney's decision to end it after they reported its decline in popularity.

Although they claim that it's not really the end for the fans, I am not on board with its upcoming replacement called "Club Penguin Island". From what I've read in their website, this is almost the same as the old one except it's pretty much 3D and an exclusive mobile game with lots of expenses involved.

Since I started with the Desktop version, I grew to love Club Penguin as it is. I met a bunch of kind people there from the other side of the globe and we even scheduled games just so we could all get to know each other. At one point, I used my savings to have a premium membership just to enjoy the life in that world and to make my Puffles happy.

Maybe it's the original's simplicity that is keeping me from getting a positive thought for its incarnation or maybe it's the heavy duty needs for the 3D game game that made it seem unlikeable. Considering that the world is already full of games that requires high-resolution, I find it sad that 2D games are slowly dying away along with these innovations.

Also, the mere fact of starting everything anew and not giving users the ability to retain the data from the original game so that you can continue with the new seems a lot off for me.

I long for the day where changes is necessary but we get to keep the old.

If anyone out there could replicate Club Penguin, I would gladly play it as much as I can.

Club Penguin, you will be missed. Rest In Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49