Survival horror games

in #game7 years ago

Plague_Zombies.jpgHonestly survival horror games as a genre, tend to be repettetive and in their gameplay and story are poorly executed. Dead island was a perfect example of how these games could be great, however dead island fell short due to its mediocre story. An outbreak of Kubu a native disease ravages the island of Banoi. Nothing new or interesting there, procceding its foundation come the generic characters immune to said disease, I will say this dead island in my opinion has well developed characters. Origins of the characters are interesting and who they are is done better than most, for example the resident evil characters who are either caught in it all or government sent. Dead island's characters are its most shining moment. Its gameplay is subpar and developement throughout the game feels meaningless. Dead island had potential all it needed was time. The developers had a secomd chance with Dying Light and this game has a generic character but the gameplay is much more smooth, rewarding and refreshing. Dying light is a hardcore parkour zombie game and its exhilarating and new. The game has four skill trees which all progress depending on your actions,20180125_152959.jpg for example I have a more agressive playstyle, I usually will try to kill something before running away, my power level (combat) is higher than my agility level. This feels rewarding. Dying lights gameplay is the best of what the game has to offer. The story isn't the best as you play as crane a GRE operative who is searching for a rouge GRE operative. The story takes its foreseeable turns so far but it's compelling enough to not make me hate doing main missions. So far Dying Light is sgowing us what survival horror games can be and its great as games in this genre have the potential to be great.

Sort:  

Postingan yg bagus

Great that you liked both the games. For me, I bounced off both. Somehow, I didn't really enjoy the action RPG (diablo-like) layer of looting. Maybe I should give it a second go?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80